Noah

  • USA
  • Bitte anmelden, um letzte Aktivität zu sehen

Abzeichen (2)

Super Workawayer

Profilangaben

  • Mein Status

    unterwegs auf Reisen

  • Beschreibung

    Hi! I'm Noah, and am from the United States. I've done workaway a lot over the past several years and love to learn about different lifestyles and locations, especially the natural surroundings. Learning new skills is a priority for me, and I'm constantly trying to expand my knowledge. I especially enjoy working with plants and animals. I've found that being able to volunteer my time and make a difference is a very fulfilling way to travel.
    My major interests right now are ecology and conservation, and I hope to someday work in field biology. I've volunteered at local nature parks and have been involved with some different conservation organizations. I try to stay pretty involved in activism where I live. I've kept bees before, and have done farm work. I've also been learned about forestry and spent a winter making maple syrup.
    Some of my hobbies include biking, reading, writing, drumming, and martial arts - Taekwondo and Capoeira.
    I have some teaching experience from doing environmental education and teaching Taekwondo.
    I love music, songs, poetry, stories, and if you have any to share I'd love to hear them. I've played djembe for a few years and am always looking for new drum patterns. I listen to all kinds of music but have a large interest in folk and world music.
    I study a lot of history and folklore and medieval/renaissance stuff.
    I've done quite a bit of traveling through the U.S., and have traveled to Ecuador and Costa Rica. I do a lot of long distance backpacking, and a couple years ago I hiked the Appalachian Trail for two months. I hiked another section last year and have done winter backpacking in Vermont. Long-distance backpacking really develops an appreciation for parts of the rural U.S. There's nothing like hitchhiking in the back of a pickup through the countryside of Virginia.
    I did a workaway at a nonprofit ranch in the Northern California mountains for 5 weeks, and learned a lot about living and working with people from different cultures and adapting to new situations.
    I did a series of workaways in southern Florida in 2016, repairing a sailboat in the Florida Keys and then working at a small sailing school and resort in Key Largo. I travelled north and volunteered at a hostel for a bit before joining the crew of an activist theatre ship for a month and a half and sailing up to St. Petersburg.
    In 2017 I sailed from Hawaii to California on a 70' racing sloop. I'm hoping to do more work on boats and learn more about sailing and boat maintenance in the future.
    I've volunteered on a trail crew in the Smoky Mountains and spent some time backpacking around the beautiful Southern Appalachians. I'm interested in sharing the natural history I know and hearing about the nature in your area.
    I used workaway at a hostel in Quito, Ecuador in 2017 and at a small campsite in the Andes, where I helped build an insectarium and botanical garden.
    I've had Wilderness First Responder and CPR training.

    I've recently graduated from college with a major in Environmental Studies, after finishing my degree at a marine field station at the Gulf of California. I'm happy to talk about field biology, science careers, birds, marine organisms, and to teach you about the natural history of your area.
    I look forward to meeting you!

  • Interessengebiete

    Gebirge
    Strand
    Natur
    Trampen
    Segeln / Boote
    Erlebnissportarten
    Wassersport
    Wintersport
    Radfahren
    Tanzen
    Outdoor-Aktivitäten
    Wandern
    Karitative Arbeiten
    Farmarbeit
    Gartenarbeiten
    Nachhaltigkeit
    Tiere
    Sprachen
    Darstellende Künste
    Bücher

    mehr
  • Bereiche, die mich interessieren oder in denen ich anderen etwas beibringen kann

    Interessiert mich:  

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Seniorenbetreuung
    Hausarbeiten
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe
    Kunstprojekte

    Bereits etwas Erfahrung vorhanden  

    Gartenarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Karitative Arbeit
    Unterrichten

    In der Lage, anderen etwas beizubringen:  

    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Ökoprojekte
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Sprachpraxis
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    Beekeeping
    I like to cook
    Martial arts
    Farm work
    Forestry work/Axe/Saw use
    Some sailing/boat maintenance
    Wilderness skills(in North America)
    Drumming
    Natural history and research skills

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse

  • Alter

    25

  • Nationalität

    American

  • Was noch ...

    Thanks for taking the time to read my profile!

    "What is life? It is the flash of a firefly in the night. It is the breath of a buffalo in the winter time. It is the little shadow which runs across the grass and loses itself in the sunset."
    -Crowfoot, Blackfoot warrior and spokesman

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien
      No

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      No

Feedback



Freunde

Fotos

Feedback