Mischa

  • Großbritannien
  • Bitte anmelden, um letzte Aktivität zu sehen

Abzeichen (4)

Explorer
Top Workawayer
Facebook verified

Profilangaben

  • Reiseinformationen

    Ich bin gerade

    zu Hause

    Mein nächstes Reiseziel:

    Montenegro
    Alle anzeigen
  • Beschreibung

    Gosh, so much has changed since I first wrote on here. We’re back in Croatia now. After spending a solid year backpacking Europe we fell for Croatia, so after leaving our boat home in the UK, we packed and set sail once more, relocating in Podstrana for now.

    I am still running my Enviromental NGO back home, only remotely now, still working in the supply chain of food, redistribution of unsold supermarket and farm food, saving it from going to waste. But I'm also writing a memoir, I have a busy poetry page online and I paint and sing with the accompaniment of an old 6 string.

    We are well versed in the workaway community. We come well reviewed and we’ve been so lucky with those we’ve stayed with during our year of travel, making life long friends along the way.

    My personal skills are in project development, logistics and planning as I’ve been a Senior Director for the best part of a decade, but I’m a creator by nature, so I can design space, paint murals, artworks, interior, exteriors etc. I also cook humble street food. I have cooked waste food in my own pop up cafe which won several awards, and also in a refugee centre in France through this platform and some food festivals. I clean to a high standard, sing (I was a singer in a band for years), I can teach English to a high level, and play guitar, ukulele or a little piano when I get the time, and I love working on projects. I’m an amateur gardener but worked in permaculture projects in England and France.

    I travel with my teenager, who is fit young and able. He speaks Croatian as a second language. He is a speed cuber (see netflix) and is just seconds off solving the cube at internationally recognised speeds. the current world record is 6 seconds, he can solve a Rubik's cube in 9. He is also studying computer programming and needs a WiFi connection to fit in his studies, but he's flexible and otherwise able to contribute, which is important for me, as a home educator, to teach him skills and a good work/community ethic. He’s been highly reviewed already but his skills have developed considerably since then as he’s much older and physically more able. He’s very responsible, conscientious and fun to be around. He can cook, clean up, do laundry and gardening. He is a great den builder, and has great ideas. He’s a fantastic conversationalist and people tell me everywhere we go, he’s not like other kids; he’s very grounded, compassionate and switched on. I’m very lucky to be his mum. Then there’s the dog. She’s wonderful. Well reviewed too. A great traveller, if not a little nervous with men. We’re working on it. But since the only fella that really visits us is the postman, she’s not really had much chance to develop trust with men since I rescued her from a sad situation many moons ago. We then have the boys (2 rescue cats) And they’re like dogs. They come on the dog walks with us. But they’re also very self sufficient. They’re affectionate but have their own lives. They’re no trouble.

    We’re looking now for a community to get stuck into. Land we can help develop and to live a more sustainable life. We’re looking for experience and genuine friendship with a collective purpose, and ways we can offer/exchange skills and meaningful time. We don’t subscribe to the status quo on most things. The ‘normal’ societal expectations are abstract to our way of thinking, and indeed our aspirations. I keep my foot in the door of that world, as I have to pay bills like most, and put food on the table, but I’ve chosen work that’s fulfilling and sustainable/ethical so I can remain a version of myself I can recognise and want to be around. Obviously, we aren't the average workawayer --we require more space than many lone travellers and with people who appreciate and love animals, but I still think we have far more to offer than you're average Jo, too. There's a lot of positive energy here, and we're ready to apply it to our next adventure!

  • Interessengebiete

    Gebirge
    Strand
    Segeln / Boote
    Yoga / Wellness
    Outdoor-Aktivitäten
    Karitative Arbeiten
    Nachhaltigkeit
    Tiere
    Haustiere
    Sprachen
    Kunst & Design
    Zeichnen & Malen
    Schreiben
    Bücher
    Musik
    Blogging
    Kochen & Backen
    Vegetarier / Veganer
    Politik & Soziales
    Geschichte

    mehr
  • Bereiche, die mich interessieren oder in denen ich anderen etwas beibringen kann

    Interessiert mich:  

    Sprachpraxis

    Bereits etwas Erfahrung vorhanden  

    Gartenarbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Ökoprojekte
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Unterrichten

    In der Lage, anderen etwas beizubringen:  

    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe
    Karitative Arbeit
    Kunstprojekte
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    Cooking
    Cleaning
    Hosting
    Novice Gardening
    Organising
    Social media content
    Networking
    Blogging
    Teaching

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Croatian: Gute Kenntnisse
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Mehr Infos zu meinen Sprachinteressen
    I'm happy to offer language practice. I'm confident with more formal teaching, especially with grammar but happy to teach informal conversational methods. My son speaks excellent English, and also speaks Croatian.

    Einen Sprachpartner finden

  • Alter

    35

  • Was noch ...

    I've spent a number of years fighting food waste and hunger, and created recycling projects for over 10 years now, but my practical skills are much broader; there's really not many things I wouldn't turn my hand to.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien
      No

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      Vegetarian, but will cook meat for others and I feed my dog chicken regularly, so I can handle meat.

Feedback



Freunde

Fotos

Feedback