Michael

  • USA
  • Bitte anmelden, um letzte Aktivität zu sehen

Abzeichen (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Profilangaben

  • Reiseinformationen

    Ich bin gerade

    unterwegs auf Reisen

  • Beschreibung

    Hi!
    My name is Michael. I was born and raised in Connecticut (lived in the same house up until August of last year!) I was homeschooled K-12 and did online classes plus CLEP/DSST tests to get an associates degree. However, I am more interested in working with my hands than doing a desk job.
    Currently, I have several part time jobs doing landscaping and carpentry. All those jobs put together add up to about six days a week of work for spring summer and fall. My main job is at a camp where I do maintenance: anything from lawn and sports field mowing to assisting with remodeling buildings or building them from the ground up. My other jobs consist of working for friends who own a growing landscape company and some landscape/home maintenance for other clients.
    This will be my second year doing Workaway. Last year I had the wonderful opportunity to work on a beef and meat goat farm in Missouri and a dairy goat/vegetable farm in Arkansas.
    My goal with doing Workaway again is to learn even more about farming/agriculture. I am seeking an opportunity to work and live on a farm or ranch to see if that is something that I would like to pursue as a career or side venture.

  • Bereiche, die mich interessieren oder in denen ich anderen etwas beibringen kann

    Bereits etwas Erfahrung vorhanden  

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Betreuung von Tieren
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    - Carpentry: I have been involved in all phases of building projects at the camp so I have a lot of basic carpentry skills.
    - Landscaping: I would say that this is the trade I have the most experience in.
    I regularly run zero turn mowers and most other landscape equipment. Here and there I also run the camp`s small tractor for cleanup, snow clearing. etc.
    - Mechanics: This would be my weakest point but I do have some basic mechanic skills.
    - Gardening: Growing up my family had a vegetable garden that I helped with.
    - Agriculture: As I mentioned above I did workaway at two farms last year (around six weeks each) so I have some experience with farm work such as animal chores/care and fence work.
    - Other skills or things I have some experience with: I can drive and back a trailer (not the most proficient but getting better!), wood processing, running a skid steer (one of the farms I was at I ran one quite a bit for moving hay, etc.)

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Alter

    25

  • Was noch ...

    I have noticed that most hosts only require 4-5 hours a day. However, if you are looking for someone willing/able to work more I would be more than willing to. My goal is not simply to travel for the sake of travel (although that is part of it) but learn about farming by doing it and so the more opportunities for work the more opportunities to learn. As I stated above I usually work six days a week spring, summer and fall so I am no stranger to long hours;)

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien

    • Spezielle Ernährung

Feedback


Freunde

Fotos

Feedback