Matthew

aus: Großbritannien

  • ...

    Konto Typ

    Einzelperson

  • ...

    Reiseziele

    Kanada, Portugal, Spanien

  • ...

    Reisezeit

    01.04.2017 - 01.01.2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    398

  • Abzeichen

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Mein Status

    unterwegs auf Reisen

  • Profil ist verbunden mit:

  • Beschreibung

    Hey, I'm Matt!

    I've been traveling for the past few years, much of which has been through Workaway. I have been lucky to have volunteered in some incredible places and have met many wonderful people! For me, Workaway is a great way to experience the world as it offers a unique chance to learn about different ways of living, to acquire knowledge and practical skills as well as exchanging culture and allowing me to give back to those that have opened their lives to me :).

    Currently, I am with my girlfriend Betty (linked profile) and our dog Pixel (unfortunately no profile) in our recently self-converted Boxer van. Animals and nature are huge passions of ours and the van enables us to incorporate both!

    I have volunteered in Scandinavia with husky dogs, a fair few farms across Europe, with a family in Malaysia, then most recently in Canada at an animal sanctuary, dog rescue and then a yoga center.
    I am very keen to learn about permaculture and self-sufficiency as these are long-term aims of ours.

    Volunteering with sled dogs in Lapland changed me forever and shaped how I travel today. I have been back there many times since my first visit. I love all animals, but dogs have the most special place in my heart. Working with these guys was an absolute privilege. I learnt quickly how to live in harsher conditions; no running water, outside toilet, extreme temperatures, dirt, mice etc etc... I have experience driving the sled, taking proper care of the dogs, building dog kennels and more.

    Other than volunteering, I've spent a lot of my time traveling hitchhiking around Europe, backpacking in SE Asia and a small stay in Madagascar. Hitchhiking is my go to method of transportation because I love meeting the local people and sharing stories and also sharing trust in humanity.
    An important moment for me was a 10 day Vipassana meditation retreat in Myanmar. It has helped me a lot and would like to continue exploring inwards and learning how to help myself and others on this path.

    My hobbies. Animals, hiking, travel, music, photography, and food! I want to learn proper climbing and slackline!

    I am an open-minded fairly positive person who is motivated to work, keen to learn and try new things. I love meeting new people and hearing their story and at times be a little crazy ;)

  • Bereiche, die mich interessieren oder in denen ich anderen etwas beibringen kann

    Interessiert mich:  

    Karitative Arbeit
    Kunstprojekte

    Bereits etwas Erfahrung vorhanden  

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Ökoprojekte
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    Before traveling, I used to work at a University where my tasks consisted mainly of light graphic design, events and photography.

    Since volunteering through Workaway, I have worked quite a bit with animals and on vegetable farms.

    As for my hands, from zero experience a few years ago to building our current van, I feel I have come a long way and have basic knowledge of woodwork!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Alter

    28

  • Nationalität

    English

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      Vegan

Fotos

Feedback