LauraMax

  • Spanien
  • Bitte anmelden, um letzte Aktivität zu sehen

Abzeichen (1)

Profilangaben

  • Reiseinformationen

    Wir sind gerade

    zu Hause

    Unser nächstes Reiseziel:

    France
    Alle anzeigen
  • Beschreibung

    UPDATED 10 JANUARY 2022
    Hi!
    We stopped traveling during the peak of the Covid-19 pandemic, but now that we're vaccinated, we'd like to be on the road again.
    As Workawayers, we've slept in small caravans, log cabins, a room in a house, an apartment over the garage, mattresses on the floor... We're flexible. As long as there's room on the floor... we can manage. :-)
    Preferably hosts with kids, but also OK if you have no kids and you'd like to share some time, work and experiences with us.
    Please read our whole profile if this is of any interest to you.
    Thanks!
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️ *️️️️️️️️️️️️ *️️️️️️️️️️️️ *️️️️️️️️️️️️ *️️️️️️️️️️️️ *️️️️️️️️️️️️ *️️️️️️️️️️️️ *️️️️️️️️️️️️ *️️️️️️️️️️️️ *️️️️️️️️️️️️ *️️️️️️️️️️️️ *️️️️️️️️️️️️
    Hello!
    We are a couple, but also a whole family of 5 from Madrid (Spain), looking for some international volunteering experiences.
    I (Laura) am a translator (English to Spanish) and proofreader. I work at a publishing house that specializes in high-school textbooks for learning English as a second language, and I have also translated four novels. I do taekwondo and enjoy rollerblading. Max (my husband) is a high-school English teacher in Madrid. He's a great cook and loves to bake and play tennis, and is a real handyman. We live in a house in the countryside we built ourselves, with a bit of help and tips from some friends that are professional builders. We both studied Philosophy at university, but we knew that job opportunities wouldn't be plentiful in that field, so I also studied Translation and interpreting, and Max studied to become an English teacher.
    Our house is north of the city of Madrid, and is surrounded by grapevines and fields of wheat and rye (and some neighbors here and there). We have two dogs and one cat (all once stray, now happily living with us).
    We are well traveled. Before having kids, we lived in Helsinki for a year (as Erasmus students), Toronto (me as an exchange student and Max as a cook) and Minnesota (as au pairs). In addition, Max was born in Buenos Aires (Argentina) and lived quite a few years there. I spent one year in Galway (Ireland) when I was in high school, living with a lovely Irish family and attending a local school. We have also traveled all around Spain (of course), Europe, and in the US (east coast) and Vancouver (Canada). With the kids, we've been to Finland, Argentina, Poland, France, the US, Ireland, Portugal and many different places in Spain.
    Also, as a family of workawayers, we've been to France (Christmas 2017), we stayed with 3 different host families in Scotland (summer 2018), we were in Poland (Christmas 2018), Minnesota (summer 2019) and our last trip was to Helsinki (Christmas 2019).
    We'd like to share a volunteering experience with our kids (Emma is 10, Gael is 8 and Noa is 6). They are three loving and open-minded kids, who are happy when we travel, love to meet new people and visit distant places. They are quite good at English (for their age), as my husband has spoken to them in English since the day they were born.
    Our kids are obviously too young to work in exchange for food and accommodation, but we don't expect hosts to feed our kids for free. ;-) If there's room for the five of us at your place and you're interested in hosting us, we can make a deal regarding the food.
    Emma (born 2011) loves gymnastics, riding her bike, arts and crafts, reading and, as a good older sister, she loves taking care of babies and younger kids. She's very empathetic and a great observer. She always pays attention to what goes on around her and has a great memory. She's very neat and organized - always has been!
    Gael (born 2013) is a cheerful and loving little boy. There's always a smile on his face and he loves hugs. He likes playing with cars and running, singing, riding his bike, rollerblading, and also dressing up as a princess or a ballerina and dancing around like a crazy little monkey. He loves music. Since he was a baby, his body just moved at the sound of music and he always asks for more.
    Noa (born 2015) is a walking smile, too. She's really independent and self-sufficient for her age. She loves playing with her siblings, doing taekwondo, rollerblading, riding her bike, drawing and taking care of animals.

    We love spending time together as a family, sometimes going hiking together, going to the movies or the theater, the park, or sometimes just staying at home and playing together. Max and I love traveling, and I guess it is contagious, because every time we come back from our holidays, our kids are constantly asking where we are going next.
    We think we could really be of use in places where help is needed with:
    - house: tidying, organizing, laundry, helping around...
    - kids: babysitting, tidying up, helping with homework, teaching English, teaching Spanish, taking them to the park, playing with them, etc.;
    - animals: in farms, or in houses where there are pets;
    - gardens: we're not professional gardeners, but I'm sure we'd quickly learn how to do what you need;
    - or in building/fixing/DIY-related jobs.
    We're pro-active and self-motivated, able to work alone sometimes if needed. We're flexible about the working hours/days. As long as we get to enjoy the surroundings during our stay, learn about your town and culture, and visit a few places, we would be happy. And besides helping you in the work that you need to do, we're looking forward to sharing some quality time with other families (preferably with kids) so we can all interact, learn from each other and experience life in a different country to its fullest. Oh, and we tend to avoid big cities... so we're looking for hosts in the countryside, mountains, rural areas or small towns or villages...
    Please don't be afraid to host the five of us in one go. We don't take up much space!! :-) And if you’re curious to know anything else about us or want any more details, please don't hesitate to ask!

  • Interessengebiete

    Gebirge
    Strand
    Natur
    Camping
    Erlebnissportarten
    Wintersport
    Radfahren
    Outdoor-Aktivitäten
    Wandern
    Tiere
    Haustiere
    Sprachen
    Zeichnen & Malen
    Heimwerken & DIY
    Bücher
    Musik
    Astronomie
    Kochen & Backen
    Kultur
  • Bereiche, die uns interessieren oder in denen wir anderen etwas beibringen können

    Interessiert uns:  

    Gartenarbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Ökoprojekte
    Karitative Arbeit

    Bereits etwas Erfahrung vorhanden  

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

    In der Lage, anderen etwas beizubringen:  

    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Sprachpraxis
    Unterrichten
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    Good with kids (parents of 3 little ones!), love animals of all sorts, basic horseback-riding skills (me), basic gardening skills, very good at fixing and building stuff (even what we have never done before, we learn fast how to do it!). I am very neat and organized, and Max is great at cooking and baking (really great) and a very good teacher.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Portugiesisch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Finnish: Grundkenntnisse

    Mehr Infos zu meinen Sprachinteressen
    We are curious about all languages and we'd love you to teach us! Also, we'd like our kids to practice their English, as it will be essential for them in school... and in life. If you're interested in learning some Spanish, we can help you with that.

    Einen Sprachpartner finden

  • Alter

    42 & 46

  • Nationalität

    Spanish

  • Was noch ...

    If you're offering room & board, don't worry about our kids - we can reach an agreement about the food for them.
    AVAILABILITY: As Max is a teacher, we can only travel during the school breaks: 1 July to 31 August during the summer, 22 December to 7 January during the Christmas break, and during the Easter break. Right now, we're looking for a destination for these dates: 23 Dec. 2021-9 Jan. 2022.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien
      No

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      No

Feedback



Freunde

Fotos

Feedback