Kathy

aus: Australien

  • ...

    Konto Typ

    Einzelperson

  • ...

    Reiseziele

    Deutschland, Dänemark, Estland, Finnland, Frankreich, Gibraltar, Griechenland, Großbritannien, Irland, Italien, Lettland, Malta, Niederlande, Schweden, Schweiz, Spanien, Tschechische Republik, Ungarn, Zypern, Österreich

  • ...

    Reisezeit

    30.11.2017 - 30.11.2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    120

  • Abzeichen

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer
    Facebook verified

  • Beschreibung

    I'm a mature solo traveler who loves to intersperse bouts of sightseeing with opportunities to spend quality time really getting to know a place. Ten years' ago I took a 'career break' and volunteered via WWOOF, HelpX and Conservation Volunteers -- I made great friends, learned new skills and got under the skin of the places I stayed. I worked in a plant nursery in Malta, Wwoofed on a permaculture holding in Sicily, helped out at a vineyard in southern England and spent a lovely month speaking in English to two very bright young girls in Rome. I also did whatever needed doing at an art school in Tuscany -- cleaning, helping out in the kitchen, driving a van. I also helped build a swimming pool at an agriturismo in Spain. Everywhere I went I made friends, some of whom I'll be catching up with on this trip. Later adventures included rounding up cane toads in the Kimberley and my new favourite -- pet sitting.
    In 2006 I undertook a CELTA and some of my volunteer stints at home, in Tasmania, have involved helping migrants to learn English and teaching English literacy.
    I love walking/hiking, art and culture, and reading, writing -- something I've taken up since I retired -- and travelling.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Kinderbetreuung
    Altenpflege
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Landarbeit
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hilfe mit Touristen
    Karitative Arbeiten
    Sprachen praktizieren
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten
    Unterrichten

  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    I have a CELTA -- that is a certificate of teaching English as a second language --http://www.cambridgeenglish.org/teaching-english/teaching-qualifications/celta/ -- and I've worked as a volunteer language tutor for both migrants and first-language English speakers with low literacy skills.
    I'm an excellent gardener -- particularly love vegetable and herb gardening. I can turn my hand to pretty much anything inside a house: cleaning, washing, ironing, cooking. I also have a driver's licence and am prepared to drive.
    In my former work life, I worked in marketing for more than 27 years, the last ten of those years focused on digital marketing. I have a website and blog http://kathygates.website. I've also written for sites such as http://boomercafe.com, http://thegoodheartedwoman.com and http://amreading.com

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English and almost-Italian

  • Alter

    60

  • Nationalität

    Australian

  • Was noch ...

    I love art, music, literature and exploring each place's unique culture.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien
      No

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      I'm a vegetarian

Fotos

Feedback