Josh

  • USA
  • Bitte anmelden, um letzte Aktivität zu sehen

Abzeichen (4)

Top Workawayer
Explorer
Facebook verified

Freunde (1)

Profil ist verbunden mit:

Profilangaben

  • Mein Status

    unterwegs auf Reisen

  • Beschreibung

    Hello workaway friends,

    Updated October 2021-

    We are Josh and Mira (see connected profile)-
    We’re recently married and back on the road in Loki, our van that we bought last November and just finished building together. At the moment we are traveling in France, especially in the south but would be open to travel for the right opportunity.
    Before that we have been in the Canary islands together reuniting shortly after the first lockdown. The majority of this time we spent at an off grid eco finca on El Hierro, improving our knowledge of permaculture, gardening, preserving, building, water and irrigation systems, animal care and much more.
    We are looking for a project where we can use our existing skills and learn new ones. Especially related to permaculture and gardening/planting, natural pest control, ect. We have both been volunteering over the last 4 years around the world. For us, volunteering is a way of life. We aren't looking for a free holiday. We usually like to give a promise of 2 weeks in the beginning but are open and flexible to extending this time of course. We are also willing to work some extra hours or complete projects in our free time to help us earn some money along the way.
    I spent the first lockdown on the island of La Palma at an offgrid eco finca. I really enjoyed this time and learned a lot. Most important was that no matter if it's a new tool to work with or new ingredients for cooking just try it. The worst that can happen is you learn to do it better next time. My favorite thing I did here was to help my hosts get a regular Sunday foodtruck vegan brunch up and running.

    Basic info-

    My name is Josh from the US and I have been traveling since the fall of 2016. For as long as I can remember I have been working in restaurants and bars and I realized I was missing out on what the world had to offer. So, I decided to see as much of as I could. I've just been back in the states for a few months of 2019 spending time with family, friends and working to travel. Sometimes I'm traveling alone and others with my wife Mira. It is really amazing to me how much a short time traveling can change what's important to someone.
    I've been using workaway for the 4 years and it's an amazing way to travel. From organic farms and earthbuilding projects, off grid locations and guesthouses/hostels, I enjoyed them all. My goal is to be more involved in learning about local ways of life, maybe learning how to make cheese or build a self sustaining water system, whatever it may be I know I'm excited to do it. At the moment I'm in the process of obtaining my citizenship in Italy. This leads to my ultimate goal of opening a small project ( permaculture, cafe, homestay) somewhere where it's warm for at least 8 months out of the year. I want to collect as much information and knowledge in my travels to be able to do exactly this. I have no schedule to keep, no apartment waiting for me at home and I am eager to learn just about anything. I enjoy working with my hands, I'm happy to cook for small or larger groups, I've even picked up some decent recipes from people around the world. In my freetime I enjoy the outdoors. Camping, hiking, music and food, on the coast or in the mountains, it doesn't really matter. It's super nice to find a home away from home, a place where you can call your workaway a family, to share some stories and some wine, to dive deep into different cultures. To cook and laugh and adventure together, this is the kind of place I want to be in.

  • Bereiche, die mich interessieren oder in denen ich anderen etwas beibringen kann

    Bereits etwas Erfahrung vorhanden  

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Ökoprojekte
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Kunstprojekte
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
    Unterrichten

    In der Lage, anderen etwas beizubringen:  

    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hausarbeiten
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe
    Karitative Arbeit
    Sprachpraxis
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    Basic carpentry or crafting skills, painting, masonry, concrete, with a good eye to learn quickly, a new skill and a good ear to listen to instructions. Anything with animals.
    Guest services, entertaining, bartending cooking, tour guide and organizing events are all things I enjoy too.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Deutsch: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Alter

    37

  • Nationalität

    American

  • Was noch ...

    References from hosts available

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien
      No

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      No

Feedback



Freunde

Fotos

Feedback