Jonas Madslien

  • Norwegen
  • Bitte anmelden, um letzte Aktivität zu sehen

Abzeichen (3)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Freunde (1)

Profilangaben

  • Reiseinformationen

    Ich bin gerade

    unterwegs auf Reisen

  • Beschreibung

    Hi!
    My name is Jonas, a 27-years-old/young norwegian with a passion for nature, culture and outdoor activities.

    I've always enjoyed outdoor activities and have from early childhood spent a lot of time doing camping, hiking, fishing, berry-picking, skiing, running and so on. Until the age of 20 I competed at a high international level in both orienteering and ski-orienteering. I still enjoy being active, running around whenever I feel like doing it!

    For as long I can remember I've loved studying maps and atlases, dreaming of distant places. After finishing my bachelor degree in geography in 2018 I did my biggest trip until then, 7 months through central- and south-Asia and the Middle East, where I also got my first Workaway experience on a school for orphaned children in Myanmar. In 2021, after finishing my master thesis and working as a gardener for a few months, I hit the road once again travelling 7,5 months through Caucasus and Latin America. There I had my last workaway until now, helping Venezuelan refugees in Colombia.

    To me, happiness and motivation are found when a sense of doing something good for the world can be shared with others, and that's basically the core of why I'm doing workaway. While this "something good" can be to the earth's nature itself or any of its inhabitants, I've especially after the covid-outbreak felt motivated to to work directly related with people. Projects related to refugees or marginalized people are appealing to me, as well as the feeling of being in a family-like community doing something good. I also really enjoy all kind of manual labour, gardening, farming, carpentry and maintenance, especially and rural and even remote areas. I would also love any job related to outdoor activities in general, hiking, skiing, fishing etc.! At least to me, combining "selfish" solo-travelling with volunteering makes me travel on a better pace and with better purpose.

    Now, after finishing my seasonal job as a gardener in early November I'm longing to go out travelling again - and this time I might be gone for a long time. I feel like going to so many places in the world right now, but I'm likely to head down to New Zealand first and see where the path leads me. I'm eager to experience different communities and ways to live, to learn more about organic farming, to meet new people and new landscapes. Excited to hit the road again!

    Cheers,
    Jonas

  • Interessengebiete

    Gebirge
    Natur
    Camping
    Trampen
    Segeln / Boote
    Erlebnissportarten
    Wassersport
    Wintersport
    Radfahren
    Outdoor-Aktivitäten
    Wandern
    Leben im Camper-Van
    Karitative Arbeiten
    Farmarbeit
    Gartenarbeiten
    Tischlerarbeiten
    Nachhaltigkeit
    Tiere
    Sprachen
    Zeichnen & Malen

    mehr
  • Bereiche, die mich interessieren oder in denen ich anderen etwas beibringen kann

    Interessiert mich:  

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Ökoprojekte
    Hausarbeiten
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe
    Sprachpraxis
    Karitative Arbeit
    Seniorenbetreuung
    Unterrichten
    Kunstprojekte

    Bereits etwas Erfahrung vorhanden  

    Gartenarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Betreuung von Tieren
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    Work experience:
    1. Gardener - weedcutting, flower arrangement, treecutting etc. on graveyards
    2. Cartographer - spent several summers mapping and drawing detailed orienteering maps in forests and cities
    3. Maintainer on a tourist mountain cabin in Norway- cleaning outhouse, wood chopping, sorting garbage, reception work, carpentry, general maintenance.


    Workaway experience:
    1.School for orphaned children in Myanmar - mostly gardening and carpentry
    2.Organic farm in Norway, spring 2020 - precultivating, seeding, weeding, lambing etc.
    3. Venezuelan refugees in Colombia - cooking, cleaning of shelters, mobile aid on the roads, support aid tents, kids play etc.

    In addition to a master degree in geography I also have a half year course in winter outdoor life in arctic Norway, and I have plenty of experience hiking and camping in all conditions, both alone and in groups. Being a former junior world champion in ski orienteering I'm a skilled skier and map reader. I've also experience doing field work as a physical geographer both in mainland Norway and Svalbard, where I also worked as a field assistant / polar best guard for other students.

    In Oslo I've been volunteering by helping adult immigrants with homework, helping out on a rental central for outdoor equipment, helped the Nature Conservation Association and been the editor of a student magazine

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Norwegian: Fließend
    Deutsch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse
    Russisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Mehr Infos zu meinen Sprachinteressen
    Dieser Workawayer gibt an, dass er/sie dir gern seine/ihre Sprache(n) beibringen oder selbst eine neue Sprache lernen würde. Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn/sie, um Einzelheiten zu besprechen.

    Einen Sprachpartner finden

  • Alter

    27

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien
      No

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      Preferably vegetarian, but I usually eat whatever I get served while travelling

Feedback


Freunde

Fotos

Feedback