Jehan & Elisa

  • Belgien
  • Bitte anmelden, um letzte Aktivität zu sehen

Abzeichen (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Freunde (1)

Profil ist verbunden mit:

Profilangaben

  • Reiseinformationen

    Wir sind gerade

    unterwegs auf Reisen

  • Beschreibung

    Jehan's story
    Jehan was born and raised in beautiful Ghent. Despite being born only 30m above sea level, Jehan also loves the mountains. For more than 20 years he has been exploring the mountains while skiing in the winter and hiking and climbing in the summer. Back home, he managed to turn his passion into a profession and started working in industrial rope access as a tower climber. No building or mast was too high for Jehan. To climbing, he added skiing when he started working in a renowned ski and outdoor shop in Ghent.

    Elisa's story
    Some 28 years ago, Elisa was born at 2518m above sea level and therefore prefers to be nowhere else but in the mountains. Like her father, she wants to climb volcanoes and one day run a marathon. Yet her role model is her somewhat rebellious mother, who bravely made the big crossing from Ecuador to Belgium some 20 years ago to give her three daughters every chance. She introduced Eli to the wonderful world of literature and dance.

    In the summer of 2016, our paths crossed at a mutual friend's birthday party.

    Our travel story
    In January 2020, we bought our campervan named Rafiki. It was itching to move into the wide world for a long time. At that time, Jehan had been working in a ski and outdoor shop for a year and a half, Eli was a digital marketer at the Museum of Fine Arts in Ghent until the end of May. The plan took shape: Eli would go to Ecuador in July and Jehan would follow in September. After an extended family visit and a tour of the Andes, we would leave in November with the campervan through Europe. The trip to Ecuador could not take place. But we did not throw in the towel. Jehan could fortunately work a few months longer in the ski and outdoor shop, Eli went to work for a few months at Film Fest Ghent and Rafiki took shape. In December we finally started our big adventure!

    While traveling we like to make a difference for people and nature. No meat or fish for us, we value sustainability highly and when we go out into nature it is with the utmost respect. We derive energy from family conviviality, good conversations and amazing, shared experiences. We contribute with great enthusiasm whenever possible, but we are allergic to gender-related stereotypes. We’re two working bees and like to put our best foot forward to help and to learn as much as possible.

    After some traveling in Sweden, we had our first Workaway experience with a lovely family. We helped with the conversion and renovation of an old 1920's grocery store into apartments. After work we loved to play with the kids and enjoy meals together with the whole family. During the weekend we did all kinds of outdoor activities. From visiting a city to hiking, skiing or biking. Not only did we stay for 10 amazing weeks, we also made friends for life. We left the epic purple house to explore Northern Sweden. In Swedish Lapland we stayed with a second family. They received us with open arms and we felt immediately at home. On the beautiful farm we built an outdoor toilet and experienced life in Lapland. We had so much fun riding the snowmobile, relaxing next to a fire or in the sauna, playing with the kids and having nice family dinners. After two weeks we continued our journey through Swedish Lapland and returned in May to help with the building of a greenhouse with recycled materials.

    If you think that we can be of great value in your family, let us know. We’re looking forward to hearing from you!

  • Interessengebiete

    Gebirge
    Natur
    Camping
    Erlebnissportarten
    Wintersport
    Radfahren
    Tanzen
    Outdoor-Aktivitäten
    Wandern
    Leben im Camper-Van
    Karitative Arbeiten
    Farmarbeit
    Gartenarbeiten
    Nachhaltigkeit
    Tiere
    Sprachen
    Darstellende Künste
    Heimwerken & DIY
    Schreiben
    Bücher

    mehr
  • Bereiche, die uns interessieren oder in denen wir anderen etwas beibringen können

    Interessiert uns:  

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Ökoprojekte
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe
    Karitative Arbeit
    Kunstprojekte
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

    In der Lage, anderen etwas beizubringen:  

    Sprachpraxis
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    Elisa:
    - Fluent in Spanish, French, Dutch and English
    - Basic in German, Italian, Portuguese
    - Digital marketeer & copywriter
    - Eager to learn new skills
    - Likes to be active
    - Not afraid to work hard

    Jehan
    - Fluent in English and Dutch
    - Basic in German, French and Spanish
    - Used to work as an industrial climber
    - Can teach in skiing
    - Likes to work outdoor

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend
    Niederländisch: Fließend
    Deutsch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Italienisch: Grundkenntnisse
    Portugiesisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Mehr Infos zu meinen Sprachinteressen
    Elisa can teach French, Spanish and Dutch. Elisa and Jehan want to learn as much as possible. (Right now, Elisa is learning Portuguese and Jehan is learning Spanish).

    Einen Sprachpartner finden

  • Alter

    26 & 28

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      vegetarian

Feedback


Freunde

Fotos

Feedback