Janey

aus: USA

  • ...

    Konto Typ

    Einzelperson

  • ...

    Reiseziele

    Frankreich

  • ...

    Reisezeit

    10.04.2020 - 10.07.2020

  • Abzeichen

    Good Workawayer

  • Mein Status

    unterwegs auf Reisen

  • Beschreibung

    Bonjour!
    My name is Jane and I am a 35 year old American looking for a workaway placement for one to two months in France. I have been on a mission to learn French for a job opportunity in the States and I made my way to Belgium a few weeks ago to live with my aunt and uncle while I take a French course in Brussels. However, due to a few factors (like coronavirus shutting down all the cultural institutions here, as well as the language schools), and the fact that the village I am living in has turned out to be far more Dutch than French, total immersion has become somewhat of an impossibility. So, I've decided to try my chance in France itself! My goal is of course to improve upon my very basic French skills, but I also want to experience day-to-day French culture. I am hoping to find a position with a couple or a family that speaks fluent French and would be willing to help me learn through immersion. In exchange I can help you practice English of course, but I would also love to offer my help with your farm, garden, or perhaps a B&B project. I am very physically fit and willing to work in an outdoor capacity but am also happy to help with any domestic needs.

  • Bereiche, die mich interessieren oder in denen ich anderen etwas beibringen kann

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Ökoprojekte
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe
    Karitative Arbeit
    Kunstprojekte
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    I love to work outside in a garden and am not afraid to get my hands dirty. I have always lived in apartments, so gardening opportunities have been scarce, but it is something that I am eager to learn all about.

    I have basic domestic skills, as in I can cook (not from scratch, but I can follow a recipe!), clean, make beds, etc., and even sew!

    I have a strong background in the arts and would consider myself artistically inclined. I'm not sure how helpful that is in general, but if you ever need to make something look prettier, I could certainly help with that.

    As I mentioned, I am very physically fit and quite strong, so I would be happy to help assist you on your more labor-intensive projects as well. I do know how to use some power tools and have never shied away from a home DIY project.

    My last workaway experience was at an off-the-grid farmstead in rural Portugal (Caramulo Mountains), in which I helped care for the orchards and vegetable gardens. I also helped my host dig a rather impressive trench to lay some pipes for a new rain-water system. In addition to helping with the cooking and the gardening, I also whitewashed the interior shower mosaics, and painted all of the exterior trim of the newly re-constructed guest cabin (formerly an ancient barn).

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    French: Grundkenntnisse

  • Alter

    36

  • Nationalität

    American/British (dual-citizen)

  • Was noch ...

    I'm very tidy. :)

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien
      No

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      No

Feedback