Edward & Alexandra

  • Australien
  • Bitte anmelden, um letzte Aktivität zu sehen

Abzeichen (2)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Profilangaben

  • Unser Status

    unterwegs auf Reisen

  • Beschreibung

    **Regarding covid: we take every precaution to ensure we do not become unwell as that may prevent us from working hard. We like each others company, so have not felt the need for public outings, we have even begun learning about foraging for wild food to avoid the supermarket. We are seeking a modestly paid position to help us maintain our savings as we move into 2021**

    Hi there, we are Ed and Alex from Sydney, Australia. We will travel anywhere in the UK for the right position, restrictions allowing. Ed is a British citizen and Alex is here on a working visa. We have been working on a small holding in North Norfolk since mid September 2020, we have been asked to stay until the end of January 2021 which we hope reveals that we are reliable and hard working. We came to the UK earlier this year, due to the pandemic and our effort to keep ourselves and others safe, we have adapted quickly and embraced our passion for the outdoors. We have started gaining more experience and knowledge in farming to help us achieve our dream of beginning our own farm. We are excited to hear about you and your place and would love the opportunity to help out and learn even more new skills. No job is too big or small!

    A bit more about us:
    We both have a keen interest in agroforestry, permaculture and anything related to the growing and care of plants, which is a mutual hobby and Ed's area of work. We have both worked in physically demanding conditions on a regular basis and understand the expectations and care involved in such work. Please note we prefer not to work with weedkillers like Roundup, we'd rather uproot weeds for long lasting results.

    We are both vegan for environmental reasons but have absolutely no issue with people who are not vegan. We are also smokers, we are aware of the irony but unfortunately nicotine is even more addictive than cheese! We keep our smoking tidy and outside. You won't find cigarette butts anywhere unwanted, we don't litter.

    Our meals are hearty and delicious, we mostly eat veggies, beans, carbs and alternative milks, so we don't require meat substitutes which we know can be quite expensive and inconvenient :) We are always happy to cook and will even cook animal products for others if required by a position.

    Our life in Australia:
    Alex (28) worked in Sydney for five years as a Drama and English literature teacher at North Sydney Boys High school, as head of the drama department, teaching 11-18 years olds. Teaching is a multi skilled job and has made me feel I can take on just about anything!

    Ed (30) is a specialist gardener who worked in Sydney for a small organic horticulture company called Jungle Horticulture, prior to this he worked for landscape architect William Dangar, and prior to that he completed a fine arts degree in ceramics at the National Art School. Ed is really creative and together we are really good at finding solutions to problems, or doing research to find them!

    We also each spent 7 years working in retail stores and hospitality, we know customer service, visual merchandising and are both good at tidying and cleaning indoor and outdoor areas :)
    Happy to share anything else you want to know to make you feel comfortable having us, please feel free to ask anything!

  • Bereiche, die uns interessieren oder in denen wir anderen etwas beibringen können

    Interessiert uns:  

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Ökoprojekte
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

    Bereits etwas Erfahrung vorhanden  

    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung

    In der Lage, anderen etwas beizubringen:  

    Gartenarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Sprachpraxis
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    We are enthusiastic and do not need to be babysat, we may check with you before having a go at something specific but if it clearly needs doing, we do it! (this includes tidying up in the home)
    Happy to work with all kinds of animals and their waste.
    Knowledge of organic gardening, permaculture and natural pest control methods. R.I.P nettles!
    Physically fit and able to execute manual farming, laboring and harvesting.
    Confident with power tools and odd jobs
    Knowledge of basic construction (from landscaping experience-Ed and from set design/building - Alex)
    Experienced in vegan/vegetarian cooking, happy to prepare meat dishes if needed.
    Experienced in babysitting for all ages if needed too, though more interested in farming and gardening, we very much enjoy the company of children but aren't interested in au pair work.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Alter

    32 & 29

  • Was noch ...

    We are both fully licensed drivers in Australia, which means we can legally drive here for 12 months before taking a test to continue. Alex has less experience in manual driving but Edward drives manual confidently, as it was required for his employment in Sydney. We are both sensible drivers.

    We are confident and committed workers who don't mind heavy lifting. We also enjoy a chat and a laugh at the end of the day when you'd like our company. We prefer a role with accommodation provided on site or nearby. We travel with camping gear and are quite happy to pitch our tent on your property. We are resilient and don't mind working in the rain and muck :) We are fine with trial periods to see if we all get along, we want you to be comfortable with us and we are open minded, not judgemental people.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien
      No

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      Vegan and very happy cook. We do not mind other people eating animal products.

Feedback

Freunde

Fotos

Feedback