Heather

aus: USA

  • ...

    Konto Typ

    Einzelperson

  • ...

    Reiseziele

    Kanada, USA

  • ...

    Reisezeit

    01.06.2019 - 01.06.2020

  • Abzeichen


  • Beschreibung

    2019 I'm preparing to explore the Western US via the Continental Divide Trail. I'll be starting in Montana in June (or July depending on snow melt) and heading south. The trail passes through Idaho, Wyoming, Colorado, and New Mexico. I won't have a vehicle, so I'll be looking for towns, workaways, museums, and events I can reach on foot or by timeshares. Please share your slice of heaven and way of life.

    California is my home base where I was born and raised in the suburbs on the Peninsula south of San Francisco. In 2007 I set out on a trip that I expected to last 6-12 months before settling down. I discovered a new way of life and greater happiness on the road as a nomad.

    I've been traveling for 11+ years adventuring, volunteering, and working as I go. Working with people on projects and volunteering has provided some of the most memorable experiences of my travels. Aside from wandering in nature- mountains and sea- I love being involved in projects that involve building, growing, & learning. As much as I lovenature, I know so little about it. I would like to learn to forage, to recognize edible and medicinal plants, to know more about geology & natural history.

    Generally I plan as I go which gives me flexibility to take spontaneous side trips or to take extra time when I find a special place. I've been blessed to often find myself in serendipitous situations that turn out better than I could have planned.

    I'm independent and introverted, so I will find some alone time to balance the social and work time.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Landarbeit
    Sonstige Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hilfe mit Touristen
    Karitative Arbeiten
    Sprachen praktizieren
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten
    Unterrichten

  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    Moving around has meant adapting and picking up work along the way such as fruit picking, dishwashing, waitressing, bartending, housekeeping and resort management. As a WWOOFer and in other work-trade or workaway situations I've had the opportunity to build, farm, garden, cook, watch children, teach English, art, and physical education. As a volunteer after natural disasters I've help bring down condemned buildings safely, build homes and schools (with wood & bamboo), build toilets and showers (with cement, wood, tarps, and tin), clean up after fires and hurricanes, and fix & build roofs (concrete and tin). I'm comfortable with hand tools, a variety of power tools, and a beginner with a chainsaw.

    I don't mind getting dirty, and even enjoy messy jobs. During this hiking trip I will only have one set of day clothes. Depending on the job, I may need to borrow some work clothes.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English

  • Alter

    39

  • Nationalität

    USA

  • Was noch ...

    A place full of heart is what I consider luxurious.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien
      Bullies

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      I appreciate eating meat/fish daily. I'm happy to supplement if this is not the norm.

Fotos

Feedback