Iris

aus: Großbritannien

  • ...

    Konto Typ

    Einzelperson

  • ...

    Reiseziele

    Großbritannien, Spanien

  • ...

    Reisezeit

    01.03.2019 - 31.12.2020

  • Abzeichen

    Explorer

  • Mein Status

    zu Hause

  • Beschreibung

    Hi, I am Iris; named after a flower and born with green fingers.
    I am a hardworking, experienced professional gardener and florist with bountiful energy, creativity and drive.
    I love nature and wildlife and I spend most of my time outdoors,
    be it at work on the historical gardens for which I have been responsible, or walking in the hills of my beloved Yorkshire Dales which have been my home for 14 years.
    I am curious and creative and I love all kinds of art.

  • Bereiche, die mich interessieren oder in denen ich anderen etwas beibringen kann

    Interessiert mich: 

    Karitative Arbeit
    Unterrichten

    Bereits etwas Erfahrung vorhanden 

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Ökoprojekte
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe
    Sprachpraxis
    Kunstprojekte

    In der Lage, anderen etwas beizubringen: 

    Gartenarbeiten
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Seniorenbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    Gardening:
    I have a backround in horticulture with a Dutch qualification and a life long experience in all aspects of the field including production and propagation.
    For several years I have been the Senior Gardener on a private estate in North Yorkshire were I was responsible for the seven acre historical gardens. These included orchards, flower meadows, a cottage garden, 130m long double borders as well as greenhouses, a herb border and an ornamental vegetable garden.
    During my Workaway experiences in Spain and Italy I have learned about permaculture and gardening in dry conditions.
    Art and floristry:
    I have also been the owner and proprietor of a flower shop, named Wild Things. I still like to keep my hand in by doing wedding flowers, especially using garden flowers. I love experimenting with nature art using all manner of natural material.
    Hospitality:
    For several years I have enjoyed being part of the Airbnb community renting out my home in Yorkshire and earning the status of Superhost. I have also worked at a castle in Wensleydale and I have worked for Yorkshire Cottages, the leading organisation in the region. (housekeeping and gardening)
    Catering:
    I have years of waitressing experience in various restaurants and gastro pubs. I worked in an award winning artisan bakery and delicatessen where I used to run the shop and help prepare food for the delicatessen counter.
    I have worked in kitchens and restaurants in The Netherlands, England and Italy.

    Education and green projects:
    I have created school gardens with primary school children, organised green school and community projects and taken part in botanic surveys. I am very interested in Forest School and enjoy doing outdoor activities and nature crafts with children.

    Workaway: From spring to winter I have travelled through the mountainous regions of Abruzzo and Trentino in Italy and Alpujarra and Sierra Nevada in Spain. I have worked on and created gardens at different altitudes, from the mild Mediterranean climate to the harsh alpine conditions. I have learned a lot about permaculture and gardening with limited water resources.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    German: Gute Kenntnisse
    French: Gute Kenntnisse
    Dutch: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Alter

    50

  • Nationalität

    Dutch, living in the UK

  • Was noch ...

    I joined the Workaway community with the wish to learn new skills and to develop various arts and crafts.
    But more over I joined to make new friends, help people and make a worthwhile contribution to what is close to your heart.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien
      No

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      No

Fotos

Feedback