Dominic

  • Großbritannien
  • Bitte anmelden, um letzte Aktivität zu sehen

Abzeichen (2)

Facebook verified

Freunde (1)

Profilangaben

  • Reiseinformationen

    Ich bin gerade

    unterwegs auf Reisen

    Mein nächstes Reiseziel:

    Cuba
    Alle anzeigen
  • Beschreibung

    Bio 2022
    Hello y Hola!

    I am Dominic Fowler, and I'm currently looking for a few weeks' work in the Isle of Skye.
    I have experience working in a four star hotel in the Scilly Isles in house keeping, as well as years' experience working in Kitchens. I am a highly affable person who communicates well with all people (due in large part to studying a degree in Psychology and working in a hospital and residential home for young adults with Autism).

    I find joy in learning languages and have recently completed the first half of a PGCE to become a Spanish teacher (which I learnt in Cuba, Guatemala, and Colombia, as well as northern Spain, most of which I spent alone and completely immersed in the host cultures rather than opting for the traveller's hostels which can lead to a tendency to speak English too often).

    I have spent my life around tools and building sites, learning to use hand and power tools from my dad whose work is in fine joinery. I have spent years since the age of 16 working as a 'lad' on loft conversions and commercial sites, so whilst I couldn't lead a complex project, I am very useful to someone who can - in carpentry a third hand nearly always needed even in simple tasks!

    I have invested my life-savings into a communal project focussed on renovating an old agricultural building in the mountains of Spain, and developing the land in an attempt to become self-sufficient and to face the incoming storm. I would love to work with you on your own projects so that I can learn your skills and hopefully share mine!

    I am a musician and writer - more as an outlet for emotion than any desire to be published or stood on the pyramid stage - so if you are looking for someone to provide a folksy atmosphere to your pub or bar then it would be a delight to play for an evening in exchange for a meal. Think John Martyn meets Johnny Flynn.

    Each year I spend about a month rowing through a country and camping along the way in my traditional camping skiff, built by my dad and I about 13 years ago. I have rowed 400Km of the Seine in France, the length of the Thames from London to the source, crossed the breadth of Scotland along the Caledonian Canal, and most recently I took the boat from London to Manchester in a journey that hasn't been undertaken in 50 years. This summer I intend on rowing from Amsterdam to Brussels. This is when I am happiest in life.

    Thanks for reading, I really hope that we can meet and share some good times through bad weather :)


    ****************************************************************************

    (Bio from 2018 - a piece of history that I'd like to keep rather than chucking it for the new)

    Hello! My name is Dominic Fowler and I am a student of Psychology in Sheffield. I am interested in spending 3 months learning Spanish and working. I can speak basic Spanish at the moment and intend on studying intensively in Cuba, in June. July and August are more flexible and I would ideally like to travel a little (perhaps sailing in the Caribbean Sea), as well as spending a month working on the land. I have spent the first part of this year working in a hospital as a psychology student, as well as labouring for a construction company. I hope that I can help put some of my basic skills to use in a farm or permaculture project.

  • Interessengebiete

    Gebirge
    Natur
    Camping
    Trampen
    Segeln / Boote
    Erlebnissportarten
    Wassersport
    Mannschaftssportarten
    Fitness
    Outdoor-Aktivitäten
    Wandern
    Karitative Arbeiten
    Farmarbeit
    Gartenarbeiten
    Tischlerarbeiten
    Nachhaltigkeit
    Tiere
    Haustiere
    Sprachen
    Darstellende Künste

    mehr
  • Bereiche, die mich interessieren oder in denen ich anderen etwas beibringen kann

    Interessiert mich:  

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Ökoprojekte
    Karitative Arbeit
    Seniorenbetreuung
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung

    Bereits etwas Erfahrung vorhanden  

    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hausarbeiten

    In der Lage, anderen etwas beizubringen:  

    Sprachpraxis
    Unterrichten
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    Experience of working in kitchens and on building sites. Musical. Capable Rower (with an understanding of the water). Physically fit. Quick and eager learner. Enthusiastic and very open to new experiences. Advanced Spanish. Developed teaching skills. Work with children and vulnerable adults (I come with an enhanced DBS on the update service).

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Mehr Infos zu meinen Sprachinteressen
    Hi! I have trained as a Spanish teacher to school-children in England and am able to teach Spanish to an intermediate level. Hola! He pasado unos meses como profesor de Español en escuelas en Inglaterra. No soy fluido como un nativo pero entiendo bastante bien para enseñar a niños y a adultos al nivel intermedio. I would like to learn French next! Je voudre aprende Francais!

    Einen Sprachpartner finden

  • Alter

    25

  • Nationalität

    British

  • Was noch ...

    I play chess for fun and enjoy reading as well as writing for myself about travelling.
    I have boundless energy and absolutely love meeting new people and spending time in somebody else's world :)

    I look forward to meeting you and hearing all about your adventure to this point in life!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien

    • Spezielle Ernährung

Freunde

Fotos

Feedback