Caitriona

aus: Irland

  • ...

    Konto Typ

    Einzelperson

  • ...

    Reiseziele

    Portugal, Spanien

  • ...

    Reisezeit

    06.01.2020 - 21.12.2020

  • Abzeichen

    Top Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Mein Status

    unterwegs auf Reisen

  • Beschreibung

    Hi! My name is Cat and I am 30 years old, from Ireland.
    My dream is to be able to live as responsibly and sustainably as I can, while contributing as much as I can to any community that I am a part of. I love meeting new people and believe that I can learn from everyone I encounter. I am a compassionate, enthusiastic, joyful, whole-hearted, a hardworking person and give every project my all.
    I joined WorkAway as I want to meet, live, work with and learn from people who have similar values to me, as well as share and contribute all that I can too. I have a keen interest in permaculture, eco and responsible living and off-grid living.

    My WorkAway Journey:
    I began my WorkAway journey in early 2020 in Portugal. I had six different placements scheduled, but due to the Coronavirus I only made it to my second stay of my journey, in Fundão, Portugal. However, it was one of the most fulfilling and enlightening experiences of a life time and I count my blessings that this wonderful family took me in for two months longer than our original arrangement. Luckily we all stayed safe and healthy (and friends!) during that time. I left Fundão in April and have since stayed in Vila Nova de Cerveira with a fantastic host, renovating a newly acquired run down building as an artists retreat, tasks here included bringing a driveway back to it's former glory, gardening, tile removal and reinforcing a window, which was great experience! Three weeks ago I joined two fantastic hosts in Terras de Bouro. Here I worked on designing their entire website from scratch, and it went live within that time, which was a great achievement for us. I also did some interior painting.

    Currently I am living with an off-grid community near Sátão for the past month. Since coming here I have learned a lot about maintaining a very large vegetable and working with the Moon calendar cycles. I have also helped with the install of the irrigation system in the garden. I have also helped with some construction tasks.

  • Bereiche, die mich interessieren oder in denen ich anderen etwas beibringen kann

    Interessiert mich: 

    Seniorenbetreuung
    Hausarbeiten
    Sprachpraxis

    Bereits etwas Erfahrung vorhanden 

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Unterrichten

    In der Lage, anderen etwas beizubringen: 

    Ökoprojekte
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Kunstprojekte
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    In a nutshell:
    Outdoors:
    -Permaculture gardening (including Huggelkulture, preparing, planting, digging etc. )
    -Land clearing
    - Strimming
    - Using a wood chipper
    -Forestry Clearing
    -Controlled burning
    -Pruning
    -Household cleaning
    -Composting and compost making
    -Building and renovations
    -Wood chipping
    - I am good-ish with a saw and drill

    Design:
    -I have experience in all design duties and can design all manner of online and printed communications
    -I specialising in visual identity design and work with entrepreneurs in uncovering their values and purpose and help them express this through their business through their visual identity and communications.
    A bit more expansive!:
    During my WorkAway adventure so far, I was introduced to a number of permaculture concepts and grew to be quite accomplished in many areas. I have worked with many knowledgeable hosts and I am so grateful for all of the wisdom they imparted on me. I am most definitely a confident permaculture advocator now and can’t wait to share what I have learned to willing parties.
    Some of the things I learned about were: cell-grazing, rainwater harvesting, humanure and compost making, forestry clearing, gardening in many aspects, preparing, planting etc. (no-dig). I learned how to prepare and maintain fruit and vegetable gardens in line with permaculture standards and also learned how to make a Hugelkultur raised bed. We also had many controlled burns which I assisted with and monitored. I also learned how to safely use a wood chipping machine (I make the best compost toilet cover apparently and have been titled ‘queen of the wood chipper’).
    I am also very accomplished at pushing heavy wheelbarrows long distances, up hill (and up make shift ramps)
    I have also helped with the building of a new bedroom and laid blocks and reinforced walls of the bedroom.

    I also helpout house hold chores and happily clean and wash up after every meal.

    In Fundao, a wonderful part of my stay was helping with the care of the families two children (ages 3 & 5) we went on many adventures together, read hundreds of books, watch many movies, played many games and did a great amount of arts and crafts. A proud introduction that I made to the family was a gratitude jar, which we added to every night after dinner.

    I absolutely adore working outdoors and physically activity, but am content doing all kinds of work.

    I spent most of my late teens and 20's focusing on establishing a career in the design industry in Ireland. I built strong foundations in my career as a designer through work in an art gallery as well as magazine and book publishing. My most recent role was at a branding and communications agency. I am very proficient in designing communications for both print and digital application, such as brand identity development, print materials, website design and marketing focused design. In my late 20's I started working towards becoming self employed and have now set up my own design business for ‘enlightened entrepreneurs’ and my plan is to travel throughout Europe while working part-time remotely – and being my own boss my hours are super flexible. My website is www.cidadesignco.com if you would like to check it out.

    My other interests are reading, personal development, fitness, meditation and spirituality.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    Spanish: Fließend
    Portuguese: Fließend

  • Alter

    30

  • Nationalität

    Irish

  • Was noch ...

    I love being outdoors, hiking, swimming, cycling and all the animals!!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien

    • Spezielle Ernährung

Fotos

Feedback