aus: Australien

  • ...

    Konto Typ


  • ...



  • ...


    31.10.2019 - 31.10.2021

  • Abzeichen

    Top Workawayer

  • Mein Status

    unterwegs auf Reisen

  • Beschreibung

    Hi! I’m Bill. I am a youthful 58 (until about 9pm, then not so youthful) who lived the first 27 years of my life in England, and the next 30 years in Australia. Dual citizen. I am retired from careers as an Automotive Engineer and then a Software Developer. I probably do match the stereotype for these professions … so, I am thoughtful, considerate, caring, intelligent, humourous, tidy, respectful, honest, calm, gentle, quiet, not very social, a good listener not a big talker. I plan, make lists, like to get things done. Quite comfortable in my own company. I’m up for a planned adventure, but I’m not a thrill-seeker. I enjoy being physically active (even in my office days I always commuted by bike, went to the gym, played sport) and try to do 2 hours exercise a day (usually walking or cycling) when not working in the outdoors. I eat lots at meal times, but generally don't bother with tea breaks. I could easily live on a vegetarian diet, but I do eat meat. I don't smoke, drink or do drugs, and don't drink tea or coffee. I follow many sports and am fully on the NZ bandwagon with the All Blacks, Black Caps, Silver Ferns etc. although not much to watch this year thanks to Covid-19.
    The last 8 years I have been a nomad in Australia, living in my self-built campervan, staying and helping on friends' properties/ sheep farms. And doing a lot of volunteer work, mostly with BlazeAid (helping farmers after bushfires), mostly doing fencing. I do like fencing, and am experienced enough to take on most things now. I am also very much a handyman, self taught (with some grandfather influence) but pretty capable. I like fixing things and being resourceful, but I have no trade qualifications. Note: I’m not a keen gardener!
    I am in New Zealand to experience the culture, climate, physical geography, different lifestyles. I had planned on being here for a year, but am now extending that to 18 months for obvious reasons ie its a wonderful place to be!
    I don’t consider myself a traveller, but have been to France several times for holidays, had 2 work trips to Japan, holidays in Fiji, Malaysia, Germany, Florida, recently 10 weeks in the Netherlands helping on a friends property; I have seen much of Australia and think Tasmania is the best bit. I really only speak English, and a little schoolboy French. Tried to learn Dutch recently but it didn't stick.
    I have no interest in social media and don’t do facebook. Surprisingly I am on WhatsApp which I begrudgingly admit is useful (and, yes, is owned by Facebook so I rather lose some credibility there!).
    I have bought a small car for transport around NZ.

  • Bereiche, die mich interessieren oder in denen ich anderen etwas beibringen kann

    Interessiert mich:  

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten

    Bereits etwas Erfahrung vorhanden  

    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    I am very practical and enjoy making or fixing things. I have no trade qualifications, but i can do woodwork, metalwork, painting, decorating, electrical, plumbing. I have built cars, steel sheds, wooden sheds, put up shelves, saved an old wooden barn, installed small solar systems. Haven't built a house yet but would like to. But I'm most practised at farm fencing.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Niederländisch: Grundkenntnisse

  • Alter


  • Was noch ...

    I do the occasional crossword and more frequently sudoku. Maybe a jigsaw on a rainy day. Watch TV when available.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      No, but I do eat lots when working hard! Wholegrain bread, fruit and cereal are great fillers for me.