Angie

  • Großbritannien
  • Bitte anmelden, um letzte Aktivität zu sehen

Abzeichen (4)

Explorer
Good Workawayer
Facebook verified

Profilangaben

  • Reiseinformationen

    zu Hause

  • Beschreibung

    Hiya, my name is Angie and I'm originally from Glasgow and live in Wiltshire. I have worked as a psychiatric nurse in lots of different environments, including addiction, for around thirty years. Following a Workaway trip to Colombia in January of 2019, I trained to teach English to speakers of other languages (CELTA). I have recently changed my career to teach in this field and have experience of teaching voluntarily with the Harbour project in Swindon with refugees and asylum seekers. During the lockdown, we switched to online teaching and while challenging, it is an interesting journey working with the students to find a platform and way of working that works for us all. I currently work as a mentor and facilitator with young people excluded from mainstream education for a variety of reasons, including being on the autistic spectrum, ADHD, learning difficulties or behavioural challenges.
    I practice yoga and Shiatsu massage and have worked at festivals doing workshops. About 10 years ago I started my own small business making mosaics, Groovetastic Mosaics, and have enjoyed providing workshops making mosaics at festivals, community events and parties.
    (Link to my website to see more images of mosaics: http://angiesingh2010.wixsite.com/groovetasticmosaics )
    I love being around animals and I have ridden horses over the years and recently started taking lessons to improve my skills and love it! For the last two years, I've been volunteering at a nearby alpaca farm and have been invited to farm sit during the alpaca shows. They are calm and fascinating creatures and I love learning more about them every week.
    My children are now 25 and 22 and I want to use my free time to travel and be part of a community, transferring our skills and having fun! I can travel for up to 3-4 weeks at a time and I'm currently learning Spanish.
    Looking forward to new adventures!

  • Interessengebiete

    Natur
    Camping
    Wassersport
    Yoga / Wellness
    Tanzen
    Farmarbeit
    Tiere
    Haustiere
    Sprachen
    Architektur
    Kunst & Design
    Darstellende Künste
    Heimwerken & DIY
    Bücher
    Musik
    Fotografie
    Kochen & Backen
    Politik & Soziales
    Kultur
    Geschichte

    mehr
  • Bereiche, die mich interessieren oder in denen ich anderen etwas beibringen kann

    Bereits etwas Erfahrung vorhanden  

    Gartenarbeiten
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Ökoprojekte
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe
    Karitative Arbeit
    Seniorenbetreuung
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

    In der Lage, anderen etwas beizubringen:  

    Sprachpraxis
    Kunstprojekte
    Unterrichten
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    I have worked as a psychiatric nurse in different environments for almost 30 years and have a particular interest in addiction issues. Communication (in English) is a skill I have learned by practicing with a wide mix of folk from all kinds of backgrounds and situations.
    I gained the CELTA qualification last year to teach English to non- native speakers and want to do this full-time.
    I can cook and really enjoy making new dishes. I have worked in bars and restaurants and enjoy working in any kind of hospitality with guests.
    I have practiced yoga since my early 20's and love it.
    I can Hulahoop reasonably well and like to keep fit and enjoy swimming, especially outdoors...in the heat!
    I like keeping fit and go to the gym regularly and like to go for long walks or cycles in the countryside around where I live.
    I have made mosaics over the last 10 years or so and have taught classes in the local college.
    I am also happy to do general odd jobs and tasks like painting and decorating, house cleaning and I love children so would be happy to look after and entertain children of any age.
    Learning Spanish.
    I love being around animals and I have ridden horses over the years and love being around them. I help look after my friend's two horses and feed and groom them a few times a week. For the last six months or so I've been volunteering at a nearby alpaca farm and have been invited to farm sit during the alpaca shows.
    I have two cats and I'm happy to animal sit for any friendly creatures really....

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse

  • Alter

    54

  • Nationalität

    Scottish

  • Was noch ...

    I am an enthusiastic and outgoing person and love meeting people, swapping stories and ideas and learning about different cultures. I love art and did a degree in art history with the Open University when my children were small. I have given talks on art history locally and think it's a great way to learn about the world, through the perspective of art. In my last position as a mental health nurse working in the criminal justice system, I participated in and ran training sessions for fellow professionals and am happy in a teaching role. I now wish to teach English as a second language as a career.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien
      No

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      none

Feedback



Freunde

Fotos

Feedback