Help me with the daily tasks on my small hobby farm in the idyllic Dalarna, Sweden

Country

Schweden

Bisher 260 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    20  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    12.10.2021

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    262

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    My namn is Sofia and I have a small farm to provide the household with most of the food I need.
    We are several self sufficient/cosufficient hobby farmers here on Sollerön that work together by growing vegetables, owning animals together and other things for a sustainable community life in our village. Even with this teamwork there are still many things that I need to do for myself, but I don't have the energy for everything and would like some help. One reason to my various levels of energy is that I have chronic exhaustion after being burnt out several times. Having company gives me more energy.

    I started this life with my best friend and life companion, but since she tragically died in January (2018) I now live mostly alone. We started with workaway in 2017 and really liked both the exchange of culture and experiences and the help on the farm. Now I enjoy having volunteers even more since it's really nice with the company, not having to do the everydaythings on your own. I really need social interaction to feel good so it's really great! Just to watch some movie together or drink a cup of tea and talk about life :)

    We live on the beautiful island Sollerön outside Mora. It's known as a popular place for tourists with beautiful landscapes, interesting history and culture with for example Viking graves and handicraft. There are also many possibilities for outdoor activities in both summer and winter (more info further down). Mora is a part of Dalarna that is known for arts, handicraft and where traditions from the past is very much alive.

    The animals we have are 4 cats, hens, ducks, rabbits and goats. We grow some vegetables, with varying results, and pick berries and mushrooms in the woods.
    We want to live eco friendly and eat organic food that we know where it comes from and that the animals have lived a good, happy life without stressful transports and in the end die as peaceful as possible. We recycle, repair and reuse many things and try to use as much as possible of things to produce as little waste as possible. But there's still a lot to learn.

    Thou I have lots of own food (especially meat, eggs, potatoes and carrots) I thinks the daily cooking is a burden most of the time. I'm not that good at planing our meals, especially since it needs to be planned on what food I have and not buy that many ingredients, so it's important that you are willing to help with this.

    Because of Covid:
    Even though most restrictions are gone I still want you to be more careful by keeping distance and avoid excessive visits to town or other such places. Also, beside your travel to arrive to my place, I don't want you to travel by bus, so if you want to go to town it needs to be planned with me so it's done by car.
    Please also write if you are vaccinated or not in your initial message.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We have a lot of knowledge of animal care, organic gardening/farming, preservation of the food we produce, some handicrafts, smaller house renovation and construction works that we love to share but also learn more about if you have knowledge/experience. Interest and a will to learn and help is almost as good as previous experience.

    We like cultural exchange, it's interesting to learn about other cultures and communities. We are good at English but not fluent. We kan teach Swedish.
    Beside me and my many friends there are many possibilities for cultural exchange in the area with museums, workshops, and a rich selection of outdoor activities.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    How much we do together and how much you do by yourself depends a lot on my energy level for the day.
    What needs to be done everyday is the daily animal care, gardening (in summer), cooking and dishes.
    There's always additional work to be done and we will together plan what we will do during your stay. What tasks it will be depend on your interests, skills, time of year, wether and such.
    If you work on your own I'm usualy nearby for answering questions, problem solving and when we need to work together.

    Examples of additional tasks:
    Build cages
    Clean out the goats stable, henhouse, duck house, cages
    Build fences and move temporary fences in summer
    Harvesting hay
    Gardening/Farming with watering, weeding, trimming fruit trees and bushes, harvesting
    Picking mushrooms and berries
    Preserve the harvest in different ways
    Make new "beds" for growing vegetables
    Organize in outhouses
    Butchering (mostly in autumn, around November)
    Tan pelts (Process the butchered animals furs)
    Repairing things (clothes, furniture, plastic things etc.)
    Shovel snow

    Sometimes we also help friends of mine with different things

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Swedish: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    You will have your own room with bed and some furniture in the main house and we provide sheets and towels. The big kitchen (with dishwasher), toilets, shower, and living room will be shared with us. We have wi-fi.
    The bus to Mora goes around 400m from the house, but not that often outside school/work hours. We can give you a ride at some times and you can borrow bicycle. There's a grocery shop just a few hundred meters away. In Mora (about 15 kilometers away) there are many shops, cinema, museums, restaurants, and about everything you might need.
    You can't be a smoker or use strong perfumes since I'm sensitive to that. We seldom drink alcohol but you are welcome to do so as long as you don't get to drunk.

    We plan meals, cook food and eat together. It's preferable if you're not vegan since the food we produce by ourself doesn't contain much protein that's not from animals.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    On your free time there are many activities to choose from. There are a field of Viking graves (it's basically piles of stones) that you can see from our window and some historical buildings here on Sollerön. lake Siljan that surrounds Sollerön is popular for swimming, fishing and boating. Gesundaberget, 7km away, is popular with down hill bikers and paragliders in summer and skiers in winter. You can either take the lift up or walk up and enjoy the fantastic view over Siljan and Sollerön. The whole area is known for its beauty, handicrafts and history and have art museums, geological sites, craft shops, hiking trails and more. Many people travel from all over the world to spend their summer holidays here.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    No specific animal that I wouldn't allow. I make my decision on the personality of the animal so I think it will work with my own animals and the accommodation. So just tell me about your companion in your request to visit :)

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)
















Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 996755832734