Join us on our beautiful Quinta in the mountains of Central Portugal - Coimbra and Center, Portugal




Bisher 87 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Last email replied


    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

  • Beschreibung


    We are a family of 2 adults, 3 children, 1 dog, 2 cats, and 7 chickens. We left the UK 3 years ago in our motorhome and after travelling for 1 year we found a beautiful spot in Central Portugal where we wanted to begin to create something new for ourselves. We moved onto the land here in August and enjoyed a scorching hot summer and an abundance of grapes, figs, peaches, walnuts, cherries, apples, pears and more. Then in October there was a huge fire in Central Portugal and our Quinta burned. We have remained here and watched it regrow over the last 2 years. We have begun reinstating our water system, built a deck and erected a yurt, dug a toilet, rebuilt onto our burnt horsebox to make a kitchen and put in a solar system. Everything is rustic and basic but we are gradually meeting all those important basic needs (we now have light and hot water!) as well as enjoying the land and all that it offers. We have planted new trees and ate very well from our veggie garden this summer. We have listened as the sound of life gradually returns to the valley and now we have enjoyed sights like snakes eating frogs and beautiful swarms of white butterflies enjoying the wild flowers. It was hard to believe that life would come back like this after the fire, but nature prevails. We have so much work to do here on the land, it's huge land and we have huge plans and as a home educating family, just our day to day life takes lots of our time. We are rebuilding the 3 buildings that burned and one is so close to being ready. We are now working on internal carpentry and vermicompost construction. We want to get sheep and need to build fence posts to keep the garden safe. Felling and stacking the dead trees on the mountainside is a massive job. The garden needs lots of love, strimming, composting, preparing and planting. We would really love to get people here to help us and to share life with us. We have space on the land for vans to park and loads of space for pitching tents when the weather gets warmer again. We have a caravan that can sleep 2 and a motorhome that can sleep a whole family.
    As a family, we love to cook and eat, listen to and play music (not very well), dance and sing. We try to play more than we work or turn work into play but we don't always get the balance right. We love to share drinks and stories with friends old and new and we savour our memories made while being workawayers ourselves. We would love to hear from people young and old, families or not, who would like to share some time together here. ( Through the winter we can only welcome individuals and couples. Families would need to have their own sleeping accommodation.) We look forward to welcoming you to this beautiful little part of the world and to sharing ideas and space together.

    We just completed a beautiful tree planting project with our friends at Gone West.

    Our land is between the villages of Pomares and Corgas. Pomares has one of the cleanest river beaches in this area with a cafe/bar, village shop, hardware store, post office, Saturday butchers, visiting veg van and daily bread van. There are many river beaches in this area and beautiful mountains. The towns of Oliveira do Hospital, Arganil and Tabua are all around 30 mins drive away and have weekly markets. The city of Coimbra is around 1 hour 15 mins drive. Porto airport is about 2 1/2 hours drive and Lisbon about 3 hours. The most straight forward way of travelling here is by car but there are other options. This area is quiet and remote, peaceful and gradually filling with nature again. It is a place to come and slow down. Nothing happens with any speed. The local community here are Portuguese, we are among very few estrangeros in this village, however there is an International mix of people wider afield. There are regular estrangero markets in the villages of Barril de Alva and Benfeita and we are part of a nice size community of home educating families within the area.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Sprachen praktizieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We are an English speaking family who are new to living in Portugal. We are learning to speak Portuguese and we are learning about running a Quinta and live off grid. Every day there is so much to learn. Those who come to join us here will learn with us, from us or will teach us. Justin is experienced in Carpentry and Joinery and Tamzin practices and teaches dance and yoga. We try to live our lives in an open hearted way and welcome travellers from all cultures and walks of life to share the culture from which we came and that which we are now immersing ourselves in.

  • Arbeit


    We need help from people who have building, carpentry skills, solar, plumbing, gardening and knowledge of permaculture, tree chopping, dry stone walling, Portuguese speaking, cooking for home as well as generally motivated, enthusiastic, interested lovely people who like children, dogs, and exercise.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, (Spanish and Portuguese a little)

  • Unterkunft


    We have a motorhome with 2 double beds. We also have a 6 metre bel tent and a 4 metre bel tent.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We would love to welcome people here to join us who are interested in helping out, getting stuck in to the work and family life but we also want them to enjoy their own time and space and make the most of the experience of being in this area. We have a family car and would be very happy to take people out with us when we are going places anyway. There are also local buses which you can catch to go as far as Lisbon or as near as the other mountain villages. There are beautiful walks and river beaches to enjoy. We have dipping pools and hammocks and plenty of space for contemplation. Tamzin is also so happy to share movement practices with anyone interested in that.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    5 hours where possible (max 25 hours/week)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 986875928314