Looking for volunteers in an Hostel in David, Panama

Country

Panama

Bisher 61 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    21.04.2020

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    The hostel has two years of operation and is located in David, Panama. I first knew David in 1981 and I now live permanently here since about 5 years. We have a mix of guest backpackers from all over the world as well as regular national customers. We live with 3 dogs, 7 cats and some chickens.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Learn Spanish while also meeting people from all over the world. A perfect scenario for learning Spanish. In David we have good Spanish teachers and language schools. Chiriquí is known for its very friendly people and high agricultural and wild areas to visit.
    Visit and experience the living and culture in Chiriquí, Panama. We are located in David, the second biggest city of the Republic and centered in the province of Chiriqui with a closed walking distance to the bus terminal where you can go visit different places in Chiriqui, Panama . Lots of day trip at one hour or less and inexpensive public transportation to visit beaches, mountains, volcano, cascades, rivers, carnavales and fairs, coffee farms, etc. Also, near by is the farmers market, central park and all the commodity a city has to offer.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    The major responsability is to help in cleaning the house while watching the house when I go out to do some arrands.
    Also possible projects depending of your skills could be some simple maintenance work such as installing shelves, paint walls, do some gardening. If someone is more of a handy person, project as tiles work, install ceiling fan, finish renovating the third bathroom, build an outdoor wood oven, fix and install some doors knobs.
    I am seeking volunteers that are friendly, respectful to others, with positive attitude, responsible and try their best. We will be open to your suggestion but the decision and rules of the house will remains ours. The schedule of the daily 3 hours of work for 5 days per week will be determined by the manager of the hostel. Each workable hours are exclusively devoted to the interest of the hostal and not to be used for chatting with guests or on the phone, having breakfast, or any activities not related to your working tasks at the hostel. The following note is only for those that are unfare: volunteer not fulfilling there working hours or not respecting rules will be leaving imediately.
    We offer free shelter but no food included and for that a lower number of hours of help. It will be fare and you will have plenty of time off to visit the province of Chiriquí on day trips.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    Spanish: Fließend
    French: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Our Hostel is conveniently located in walking distance to all central David facilities and at the same time in a quiet residential area.
    We have 4 bedrooms but right now two are set with 3 bunk beds in each room with two bathrooms with hot showers. The beds are comfortable solid metal beds especially build for adults. We also have one private room for guests. Each volunteer will occupy a bed in the dormitory shared with guests. Volunteers has to keep their personal effects tidy and away to leave usable space for the guests.
    The other common areas shared with the guest of the hostel are two complete kitchens, laundry, front and back terraces and yard. We have WIFI, Smart TV, a pool table, hammocks and music instruments. The dogs sleep outside but sometimes sneak in during the day. The cats own the house even though we try our best to keep them off the bedrooms and furniture.
    Being very central David, you will find within walking distance the central bus terminal, an everyday farmer's market (fresh fruits, veggies, fish and more), supermarkets, "Miguel De Cervantes Saavedra" Park and shopping stores, ATM, banks, Western Union, pharmacies, doctors, restaurants, bars, casinos, movie theater, museum, etc.
    Lots of easy planed day trip by inexpensive public transportation to visit as described below.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Depending on your interests, for example, you can get to live the panamanian cultural celebrations and carnivals, joining an art or music group or an organisation that takes care of street dogs and cats, take Spanish, latino dancing or photography lessons. Or, just have a walk to the park and enjoy the iguanas, birds, squirrels and the people. Discover the culture of indigenous and Latinos. We are in the second biggest city of the country and within walking distance you will find movie theatre, the old Barrio Bolívar, museum, bar, casinos, the central bus terminal where transportation is inexpensive and buses will brings you to many interesting places, touristic area or not. On a same day or a few days trip, you might like to visit places such as beaches (Las Lajas, La Barqueta), varios cascades, river (El Majagua in Dolega, Borinquito in Bugaba), hot springs, Boquete, Volcano Barú, Cero Punta, horse riding, hot springs, go shopping at the border of Costa Rica, join a sightseeing tour, rafting, climbing, visit a coffee farm and factory, and more.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    15 hours per week (no food)




Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 983839728657