Learn to live a self-sustainable life in a small farmhouse in Vanxains, France

Country

Frankreich

Bisher 7 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    21.08.2020

 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    I have retired to a small farmhouse in France with 3 acres where I hope to live as self sustainably as possible. I will be sowing a wild flower meadow in the next few weeks as I shall be keeping bees. I hope to keep chickens and grow my own fruit and vegetables. I already have plum,cherry, apple,quince,walnut and fig trees and a vine. I have done half the decorating but there is still more to do. Unfortunately I don't have the physical strength I once had and can no longer do it all myself. I have acquired an amazing cat, called Ollie, to keep any mice away. I am planning to harvest the roof water for irrigation and a wet area to grow willow for basket making. I am making one of the workshops into a pottery studio. I enjoy the company of like minded people and the odd glass of wine.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I am also a potter with diverse artistic interests including stained glass, felting, painting, sewing, plant dyes and making products from beeswax. I am happy to share my knowledge on these subjects. I have a degree in environmental sciences and am interested in climate change and keen to learn about permaculture.
    I would hope meals will be taken together.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Fencing , rendering, gardening, tree pruning, chickens, bees, decorating, joinery,tree planting
    Anyone who knows about solar panels and batteries most welcome !

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Two double bedrooms with adjoining shower/WC. Shared kitchen/living room with large open fireplace and old stone kitchen (but also dishwasher!)
    No smoking or playing of recorded music.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    A car would be useful. Beaches and swimming are at Lake Jamaye ( 15 mins) and St Aulaye (8 mins). I am about 20 mins from Aubeterre (on the list of Frances 100 prettiest towns). It is a short bike ride or leisurely walk into the nearest town of Vanxains with a cafe and boulangerie. Riberac, with all shopping and lesiure facilities is less than 10 minutes drive away. If you don't have a car I am happy to drive you into town when I am going and to have the occasional day out.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 983692135946