My hinterland property always needs some helping hands with maintenance 7 mins from Pomona, Queensland, Australia

  • Bisher 133 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 12 Apr. 2024



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche



  • Beschreibung


    Hi Workawayers,
    A bit about me. I've done all sorts of different jobs over the years. I was a secretary, a nursing assistant, a primary/secondary teacher, a horse trainer, a riding instructor, a governess for the Royal family in Saudi Arabia...and for remote farming properties teaching children up Far North Queensland. I lived and worked teaching English as a second language in Brunei on the island of Borneo for six years. I then sold up my Victorian property and bought here to live in the beautiful Queensland Hinterland. I did up an old pole house with many 'helpers' and run it as a bnb. I've since sold that, so I no longer have a big house or pool. My little farm is a cute, but small house in the middle of 5.5acres of pretty pasture I share with two horses, a dog and a cat.

    It needs work, but it's a very relaxing place to get away from it all. Main jobs are mowing, brush cutting, gutter cleaning, fence line clearing, clearing fallen timber, putting into burn piles and burning, painting fences, help clean and cook.

    I prefer helpers with their own transport, but will consider those who don't.

    I am willing to help your English skills. One boy who was here for two and a half months arrived with little English, by the time he left he got a job teaching English tourists how to ski in the French Alps.
    I'm well used to the exchange process. I work hard and expect the helpers to do the same. Often this requires starting very early like 5.30am owing to the heat during the day. The work isn't suitable for anyone who is afraid of snakes, ticks, cane toads and spiders. This is a rural property, it is their home too.

    Also please disclose any injuries or reasons why you can't do certain tasks before arrival. I didn't appreciate a girl who turned up with her right arm in plaster!

    I prefer couples with a strong male to do the work I can't. That said, I've had some fantastic girls work here.

    To stay here you must come prepared with strong shoes with good tread, long pants made from strong material, some old shirts you don't mind getting paint/dirt on, a hat for the sun, work gloves, insect repellent and sun cream.

    I have unlimited internet, and will really appreciate all help to teach me how to use it!!
    There isn't a lot of 'night life' close by. If this is your thing, better to choose another place. If you enjoy nature, solitude away from the 'backpacker' hustle and bustle. This is your place.
    Look forward to hearing from you.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I taught English as a second language for six years in Brunei on Borneo. I can help with language skills, but also I have a keen interest in world politics, alternative medicine, yoga, meditation, learning about where you are from...and therefore enjoy a lively dinner conversation. But just as happy watching a movie or reading a book. I can teach you how to use gardening equipment, teach you about the weeds and plants. Also I'm happy to do some day trips for hard workers. This area is very beautiful! For example work a full day and have the next one off to relax or explore or a bit of both.

  • Arbeit


    This is a 5.5 acre property, which needs constant maintenance. For two years I had volunteers here. I was very lucky with the wonderful people I met and the help I received. I am trained to 'teach English as a second language' so can help out your language skills. I am not the world's greatest cook, but if you would like to cook I'll be the second chef!
    You will have your own room with a good mattress and rural view. We share the bathroom, the toilet is separate.

    You must not be terrified of spiders and snakes, there live here and don't understand why people scream at them!
    Seriously, yes, all manner of cute and not so cute wildlife lives here, but I can almost guarantee you won't be in any danger from the wildlife!

    The work is varied and obviously must fit in the the weather. Always mowing and weeding, burning off, painting various items etc.
    You will need to have work clothes, strong gloves, closed in shoes, hat.
    I need people who can work a brush cutter for a few hours at a time. Someone good with a chain saw would be great.
    My two horses, dog and cat absolutely love visitors and sulk for days after they go!
    I prefer helpers with their own transport.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    Own room, fresh sheets, doonas, towels etc. Full use of house equipped with games, videos, Netflix, books, hammock, very comfortable couches.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The thing most helpers do first is climb nearby Mt Cooroora. There are too many beaches to mention. Some with good surf. Wonderful walks through National Parks, Eumundi Market, the Australia Zoo (the Steve Irwin family), visit Rainbow Beach, Fraser Island, Montville, Mapleton, Maleny, the Crystal Waters Commune, all the interesting country towns in the Hinterland; all within a days drive. Noosa Heads famous beach and National Park is 35 mins away.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    There is 170 mts of relatively steep gravel road and driveway to the house. The van can be parked in a safe and shady location in the yard.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 982531799968

Feedback (1)

Weitere Bilder


Help with some outdoor projects on 27 acres in the Adelaide hills, South Australia
Organic farming and sustainable living, helping in my gardens in Western Creek, Tasmania, Australia