Get a real insight into how islanders live and help at our off-grid place in Karimunjawa, Indonesia

Country

Indonesien

Bisher 156 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    15.03.2020

 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 3 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We're an Indonesian/English couple who have been running a simple little off the grid, wooden guesthouse for 3 years, in the heart of Indonesia's first Marine National Park. We are looking for brave and independent volunteers to help renovate and carry out maintenance at the guesthouse, while also helping to clean up the nearby beach.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Karitative Arbeit
    Kunstprojekte
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Volunteers will have a lot of time to reconnect with nature, and therefore themselves. Island life, particularly during the rainy season has many challenges, which volunteers can experience and learn from during their time here. Travellers can also tackle the worlds ocean plastic problem head on and see the issue from the locals point of view too.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    ** CONSTRUCTION/WOODWORK/D.I.Y. **
    We are looking for hands on volunteers who can help us finish constructing the open-air wooden dormitory that we've started building in the old shrimp farm. We are also building an outside toilet and open shower. We will also need help with some structural maintenance as the entrance way fence and parking area needs improving.

    We are also looking for volunteers who can help with creating some simple furniture for the balcony of the new dormitory. We have lots of second hand wood from our old kitchen and also some palette's that can be played around with. We have started rebuilding our kitchen, so will shortly need help putting in storage, creating shelves, painting etc.

    **ECO PROJECT**
    We have begun our journey towards creating a more Eco conscious guesthouse, however, we are aware that there is still a lot more that we can do. We have solar powered electricity and have experimented with homemade cleaning products (although there is still more scope to expand on this). We would love some help in setting up a compost system, recycling system and help coming up with and implementing any other Eco friendly concepts around the guesthouse.

    **BEACH CLEANING**
    The beach at the entrance to the property is a dumping ground of the world's ocean plastic. As it's in a bay, the currents bring in so much plastic, and it's a huge effort to clean it and keep it under control. Volunteers will be asked to spend some time each day they volunteer working on cleaning the beach.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    Indonesian: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Volunteers must be able to ride a scooter and be brave enough to ride and walk along an unlit path at night. They must rent their own bike to get to and from town, which is a 10 minute drive away.

    Volunteers will sleep in the new dormitory. Breakfast will be served at the guesthouse and another meal will be served at our home in town on the days when volunteers work.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We have kayaks and snorkelling equipment on site which are free for volunteers to use. There is a live coral reef surrounding the guesthouse, a turtle sanctuary and white sand beach all in the same bay. An island hopping trip is the most popular activity on the island, along with beach hopping, mangrove trekking and a general exploration of the main island. There are also camping and diving opportunities.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 966288465774