Free range pig farm and vegtable garden

  • Bisher 134 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 18 Dez. 2023

Verfügbarkeit

  2024 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a family of 3, previously office based from a sea side town in South east England. Now taking on the challenge of free range pig farming in rural France.

    We are a small farm trying to find our way and hoping to be as self sufficient as possible, farm respectfully with animal welfare and environmental land usage at heart.

    We breed and grow our own pigs, Simon now does the butchering and we have both learnt french charcuterie. We cook and we sell direct at our local markets and events. Our business has been built with alot of hard work and sheer determination and is constantly evolving. This year our pig feed cost doubled, so we are in transition mode, trying out a new systems of pasturalism, planting and moving the pigs around.

    This year's volunteer work can be varied from helping with chickens, goats and piglets. Feeding, cleaning out, milking etc, building new fences and helping move the animals around. I have also started a new vegtable garden as I'm keen to grow as much of our own food as possible. So looking after and planting vegtables and making upcycled garden ideas would defiantly be welcomed.

    We have a yurt and a room in our house for our work away volunteers. We are also keen to build more outside facilities such as a dry toilet and kitchen area.

    Obvouiosly being a farm the work can be quite physically demanding and is always outside based , so we are open to both short and long term volunteers to share our experience with and learn from. We have so many great ideas we want to achieve, but we are definitely in need of a boost of fresh energy to give is a helping hand.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We live in a very unique area in France with a new emerging community of young like minded people, who are passionate about the environment and local community. We want to grow, learn and pass on to others, ideas and experiences to create an animal/crop rotation system that has minimal impact on the land and animals.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    The help required will range from, feeding chickens, goats and piglets, fencing, helping with wood, creating a vegetable garden, polytunnel system, organising the old buildings and land management, or some help in the house and cooking meals. Last year we have put up our yurt and want to create an outdoor living/ kitchen area which could fun.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Gute Kenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    At the moment, we can only offer accommodation within our home, in the yurt and command tent. We live basic but comfortably, our house is insulated with hemp, has solar panels and reed bed fosse system. The kitchen will be open for you to help your self, we will always have a good healthy dinner, we eat a lot of pork and locally sourced veg.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We live within the Millevaches national park, and close to 2 lakes, lac de Vassiviere and Viam with many swimming beaches, which is the perfect way to cool off in the summer months. We are quite high, 700m above sea level, lots of places to walk, hike and and explore. Plus in Spring and autumn the forest is fantastic for looking for mushrooms and foraging.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Dieser Gastgeber nimmt gern Digital Nomads bei sich auf.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 961541253634

Feedback (4)



Weitere Bilder

Feedback

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)