Free-spirited disabled family living in the Scottish mountains. Crafts, sci-fi and some crazy pets

Country

Großbritannien

Bisher 319 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    18  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    01.01.2021

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    195

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Update for August 2020. I have a major renovation project starting in my home on the 1st of September and would be grateful for help leading up to that, organising cupboards, packing up ornaments and some gardening and helping me put everything back once it's done. The company are putting in a new heating system which is terrifying and exciting all at once. We have spent lock down with no help, when I normally have a helper, a carer and a cleaner. My house is a riot and I'm seriously stressing about where to even begin!

    At this time I'd be happy with male or female help as long as you are already within the UK. As a vulnerable family I hope that you understand.

    *****************************************
    I live with my two children (girls aged 10 and 12) and two cats. We live in the rural village of Dalmally Argyll in a bungalow with amazing views of the surrounding countryside. I travel quite a bit for work, and am always either packing or unpacking a suitcase! We live in a vibrant community, which is also the home of Mary's Meals and there are always projects underway such as in the community garden that you could volunteer at.

    I have a a chronic health condition that affects my joints and I get very badly fatigued. Unfortunately it's genetic, so at times my two daughters can be quite ill too. It makes it hard to work full time and look after the girls and still do housework as well, and this is the main reason I'm looking for a female work away guest. This is not a taxing job, really it's just normal family life, we have decent internet, games consoles and fancy TV services and this would suit someone who is still studying or someone who has art projects / online work that they need time to do. Mainly it's just being on hand if I have a bad day, helping with chores I can't do myself and taking part in family activities. We are always happy to take people sightseeing, there are some amazing standing stones nearby, ruined castles, and of course Glencoe / Fortwilliam and the Harry Potter steam train are all within an easy travelling distance.

    I'm looking for help with the garden, tidying the house, help cooking meals and clear up, occasional baby sitting and house sitting for when I'm travelling. Also things like help with music practice, homework, hoovering, organising things as needed. There's no massive list of chores every day, but it's more a case of see a job needs doing and do it. This could include cleaning the cat litter, loading the dishwasher, pairing up odd socks or collecting my medication if I'm not well. You will have your own room although admittedly we only have one shower room to share between everyone living here.

    We are quite an alternative and artistic / musical household, we play a lot of board games, card games, watch sci-fi movies and play computer games, and we like to go visit places around Scotland, weather permitting.

    There are times when I need to take one of the girls somewhere like the hospital, so babysitting is really just looking after one or two children for a few hours at most. If I'm away from home, then my mum will be staying and doing the childcare. Occasionally I will have other guests, family or friends, and at those times the house can get a bit crowded but fun, and for some reason my house is THE house that all of the kids visit after school. It can get noisy and there can be children hiding in cupboards and running around playing pirates, and we have a cat that wails like a baby when he is lonely and wants a hug, so if you don't like kids, or hate noise and art projects everywhere and music this is really not the house for you!

    It is absolutely essential that any guests are independent and comfortable house sitting if we are all away. In the last few months, I've really not been well, so I tend not to go out and do a lot once I've finished work, we have easy access to Oban and Glasgow by bus and train, and I'm more than happy for you to take off and explore whilst you're here and use the house as a base. Obviously it would be great if we could coordinate this so that you're around on days where there's something I need help with.

    Be warned. This is the West coast of Scotland, it can rain.... like a lot... in winter months there's not a lot of daylight, and whilst the house isn't freezing, it can get coldish.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Kunstprojekte

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Scottish music, crochet, quilting, English language, research writing and publishing. I have a lot of craft materials, so if you were interested in these, I would supply all materials and resources. Large library of music and craft books which are available for your use. Also you are free to complete your own work and studies during the day when the kids are at school. We have premier TV services, games consoles, and easy access to some of the most beautiful places in Scotland

    There are several other artisan crafters nearby so things like felting, weaving, spinning and a lot more are all accessible, but if its with someone else you would have to pay materials and lessons of course.

    We also live within walking distance of Craig Lodge, a wonderful and welcoming Catholic prayer centre. We aren't very regular visitors, but it is a lovely place if you're that way inclined. Lots of events and mass throughout the week.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    I'm looking for a female (or someone whom identifies as female / non-binary) traveler that's able to help around the house and with gardening. This would include taking a share of the cooking and tidying of the house, help with craft projects or community events, care of the two cats if I'm not here. We like meeting people from different places, so would love to try your cooking as well as share some of the local Scottish ones.

    Other jobs could including organizing children's clothes, holiday decorating, grocery shopping, meal planning, vacuuming etc.

    I am chronically untidy, I just have too much stuff, too many books, too much yarn and far too much painting supplies, so helping with organisation, or just helping me to use up some of the art supplies if you like painting etc would be good :)

    This year I'm hoping to do some work in the garden, I am however clueless, this could be general tidying, installing a composting bin and teaching the children how to use it, creating raised planters or growing veg.

    I'm a really easy going person, if you're sick and can't do anything for a few days that's fine, I'll make sure you're comfortable and bring you hot drinks :)

    There are only a few things that really truly annoy me, please don't come here and tell me about whatever miracle cure you've discovered that will magically make my genetic disease go away, or trying to school myself and my children in religion, we are a very tolerant household, so alternative lifestyles are fine. We can accommodate vegan and gluten free diets, but there will be meat in the house on occasion.

    There is a lot of free time during the day, and at weekends and you are welcome to join us on any family outings. There are some longer sightseeing trips that require a lot of driving, happy to take you but, a share towards the cost of the fuel on those trips would be appreciated, and you have to be aware that if I'm ill, we can't go.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    English: Fließend
    French: Grundkenntnisse
    Gaelic (Scottish): Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Room with a single bed - all to yourself but it does have an external door so deliveries and things may wake you up if you're a late sleeper!

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Argyll is an amazing place, there are lots of outdoor activities close to hand, if you like cycling, please bring a bike, you won't be disappointed! There are local water sport opportunities, and easy access to hiking trails such as the West Highland Way and the Ben Nevis range. The train station is nearby and you can easily get to Glasgow and Oban, good bus service to other cities. you would have every other weekend free as well as a lot of free time during the week.

    There are some spectacular opportunities for people interested in photography, with several nearby ruined castles, and the beautiful Glencoe

    This is a remote place, there are no McDonald's, nightclubs, designer clothing stores nearby. If you want to do this you will need to go to the nearest city and stay over night, but generally if that's what you're looking for this is not the place for you!

    It's also on the West coast, it gets cold, it's liable to rain a lot and in winter there isn't a lot of daylight!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Dieser Gastgeber nimmt gern Digital Nomads bei sich auf.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    max 25 hours/week- a few hours every day, occasional weekends for childcare if I'm working

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)














Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 939752558759