Help us begin the journey of our lavender farm in Banska Bystrica/Detva, Slovakia

Country

Slowakei (Slowakische Republik)

aktualisiert  

Bisher 35 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    14.10.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We, a couple in their forties and our 5 year old son, are setting up an organic lavender farm, as well as our permaculture garden and food forest. We now have a dog, four cats, 10 chicken, three goats and four sheep.

    Our farm has 5 hectares, we will be renting another one or two hectares. Our farm is located in central Slovakia, the nearest village is called Detvianska Huta.

    I am Austrian, my wife is Slovakian. We can communicate in German, Slovakian, English, Polish, Russian, Czech, and a little French. Our area is quite remote, the closest bus stop is 4 km away. We are also quite high, 900m above the sea on a hilltop with lots of beautiful views.

    Even in July, temperatures never rise over 27°C during the day. It is a very sunny place surrounded by meadows, fields, and forests. Nature around us is stunning, the wildlife plentiful and around us grow many medical and culinary wild herbs.

    Be aware, it is a pretty remote area, no bars, discos or shops beside a tiny grocer in the village. A great place to unwind and find peace.

    The area is great for hiking, cycling, mushroom hunting, and wildlife observation. Also horse riding is available nearby.

    Some of the projects you can join us in this year:

    Vastly expanding the fruit forestConstructing a greenhouse (maybe a walipini?), beehives(honey cow)Turning more overgrown land into useable landCreating a pondFinishing the reconstruction of our barn (part summer kitchen, part storage/herb dryer, part workshop, part sleeping place)Planting organic herb crops- chamomile, marigold, fennel, more lavender (we planted 1000 specimen last autumn, now have 3000)Creating garden pathsCreating a gravel roadBuilding a new barn for the animals

     

    Who we are looking for? Singles or couples who are reliable, friendly and uncomplicated as we are. You have to be over 18!

    If you are fine with manual work and would like to experience a farm coming to life, this might be something for you. Hope you are not afraid of manure!

    Best would be if you can stay two weeks or more, up to three months between May and October. We can arrange the days off as it suits you.

    We can pick you up either at the closest local bus (Detva) or train station(Krivan), or we can collect you in Banska Bystrica, if you have troubles finding more local transport.

    We provide three meals a day, at least one warm. We expect you tidy up behind you.
    Our house has two guest rooms, one is shared.
    You can also camp on our property, if you prefer. Even though we are remote, we provide free WiFi.

    As we do not drink or consume any drugs, we would like to meet people of a similar mind-set. If you smoke, that is ok as long as you don’t do it indoors.

    We are willing to share everything we know and would be happy to learn anything you can teach us. We are looking forward to hear from you!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We offer many languages, cook quite international, and like to share stories from our time abroad. Also, we can share our knowledge about green living, building an eco house, and farm work.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    It is all about getting our farm running. It was dormant and in a bad state for many many years till we bought it. So you join us in being pioneers. We need people who have some skill in woodworking, gardening, animal care, composting, weeding, and so on. Some strong hands and an open mind are most important.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Czech: Fließend
    German: Fließend
    English: Fließend
    Polish: Fließend
    Russian: Fließend
    Slovak: Fließend
    French: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We can offer accomodation in our guestroom (shared), in our barn (separate living quarters there, shared), or you can camp/bring your own accomodation. We like to eat our meals together, help in making food and doing the dishes is welcome. We are non-vegetarians, but have no problems cooking vegetarian for you.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We live rural, away from any big city, quite far away. This is a great place for finding peace, meditating, cycling, jogging, hiking, wildlife observation, horse riding. Unwinding from stress. A few kilometers away are some nice waterfalls and climbing rocks.
    What we expect from our visitors? An open mind, willing hands and a friendly personality. Please be advised drugs are an absolute no-go for us. Smoking is ok, as long as it is outdoors and cigarette buds disposed in the trash and not the garden.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 935324723969