Discover life on our off-grid family farm in the beautiful Kangaroo Valley, Australia



Bisher 65 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

  • Beschreibung


    We are a small family (Kirsty, 42 and Andrew, 50) with one child (Jayden, 13) who live on an amazing 40 hectare property in the beautiful Kangaroo Valley. We have a tiny organic market garden which is part of our little community, a small flock of dorper sheep, a couple of beautiful cows, laying hens, and a mixed fruit orchard. We live off grid using solar energy and wood fired heating, collect our own rainwater and manage our own effluent with a healthy worm farm compost system. In the coming year we plan to establish a large worm farm which will provide fertilizer for our gardens and improve the quality of our grazing pastures. We have plans to plant a significant number of trees for shelter and drought forage as well as a small nut orchard. Other projects include setting up a brooder and orchard grazing system so that we can start to raise our own meat chickens. While Kirsty looks after the plants and animals, Andrew manages the on-farm tourist accommodation for city dwellers who want to unplug and reconnect with family, food and nature. We're calling it a slow food holiday and this will hopefully provide the funding required to keep the rest of our lifestyle venture sustainable :o)

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We consider ourselves to be a modern Australian family. We are very much connected to our land and our community and are constantly trying to find ways to improve the health and resilience of the place that we call home. We are blessed to be surrounded with wildlife including dozens of native bird species (including eagles, lyrebirds, colourful parrots, cockatoos, herons, frogmouths and kookaburras) as well as wombats, kangaroos, wallabies, echidnas and possums. We live in a particularly beautiful part of the NSW south coast with stunning walking trails and mountain views. We are just 35 minutes drive to some of the best beaches in the world and are home to amazing fresh produce and great local artisan producers.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    We need help with things like tree planting, gardening, feeding and moving animals, building and fixing farm fences, harvesting fruit and vegetables and splitting and stacking firewood. We will need help with our big projects for 2020 that include understory planting in the fruit orchard, establishing a small nut tree plantation, setting up a brooding house and grazing system for meat chickens and building a large scale worm farm. We also appreciate a small amount of help around the house cleaning and cooking, although we will take care of most of that.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    Guests sleep in our onsite caravan which is parked directly beside the main farmhouse. Here you have power and water and a comfortable double bed plus a bit of space for reading and relaxing and shutting out the world. The main farm house is a spacious, modern, solar passive light filled space with heated concrete floors and high ceilings. You may use the house as your home during your stay and treat the caravan just like a bedroom. Breakfast and lunch is a do-it-yourself affair using supplies provided by us. At dinner time we eat together around the dining table and meals will usually be cooked for you. We can cater for vegetarians or gluten free/nut free/dairy free types of diets, but vegans will need to prepare their own meals. Help with preparing dinner and washing up after meals is appreciated.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Afternoons and weekends are generally yours to relax and explore. There are many walking trails and hikes nearby as well as a beautiful lake and rivers for paddling and swimming. Public transport is scarce in Kangaroo Valley but we are happy to make our vehicle available (when possible) to those with a valid drivers licence and clean driving record. We can also drop you off to transport hubs or scenic destinations with prior notice. We have mountain bikes and canoes that we are happy to lend and can hook you up with local riders if horse riding is your thing.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We have 5G wi-fi and excellent mobile coverage with both Telstra and Optus.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    We have plenty of space so could accommodate pretty much any kind of campervan or motorhome.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 932919738398