Help on our hobby farm and enjoy rural life in Robson Valley, BC, Canada



Bisher 185 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Last email replied


    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 5 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

  • Beschreibung


    Hello! We are couple in our late 30's living on a 35 hectare farm in the Robson Valley in B.C., Canada, on highway 16 near the community of Tete Jaune Cache. Our property is located just off the main highway on a southern slope with full sunny days and beautiful views of the surrounding mountains. It is bisected by a glacier-fed creek that supports a lush environment which you are welcome to explore. We also have access to the Fraser River with our own little swimming hole and private island if you are brave enough to jump in the very cold water!
    Our vision for the future is to provide eggs and vegetables to the surrounding communities, to increase our productive capacity and to eventually expand into other areas of production that interest us. We have two greenhouses to help us to make the most of our short growing season and we’re in the process of building chicken coops to accommodate more laying hens.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We believe that our farm, though in the early stages of development, can offer a great perspective into rural life in western Canada. Many of Canada's residents still live in isolated ares of the countryside, sometimes with more exposure to wild animals and nature than other human beings. It is a simpler, slower life far removed from the congestion and noise of big cities. A warning, you will not find fine art museums, shopping malls or any serious nightlife here.

    We hope that your time spent with us will also be part of your cultural experience whether it's improving your English (or ours), helping us to learn or improve other languages, sharing stories of your own culture or discovering pieces of ours, or just simply immersing yourself in our quiet way of life here. Swanny is from near Hamburg, Germany originally. Wir sprechen beide Deutsch, Taggart nicht so gut, aber keine Sorge wenn du kein English kannst. Tambien Taggart habla espaniol si hay un problema con ingles - no es perfecto pero tal vez me ayudes con eso.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    The type of help performed here will vary depending on the time and duration of your stay and the skills that you bring with you. These tasks could range from the daily care of chicken, dogs and cats, preparing garden plots for seeding or planting, weeding the garden, cultivation and harvest of crops, help with preserving and canning, yard maintenance, splitting firewood, assisting the construction of outbuildings. We expect 5 hours of help/day, 5 days/week but we promise not to complain if you do more. We are also flexible as to when the work happens as we understand you want to get out, explore, and have fun!

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Deutsch: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft


    For the moment, the most likely accommodation will be with us in our house. We have two spare bedrooms with one full bathroom between the two and full use of the kitchen, common living room and screened-in porch (both with amazing views). Depending on when you come, there might be an opportunity to stay in an off-grid cabin with no electricity or running water should that interest you and there are no occupants renting at the time.

    As for food, we want to be clear that it won't be steak and lobster every night provided for you. We will provide a variety of ingredients for healthy meals, supplemented by our own garden vegetables and eggs, but we expect you to take responsibility for preparing your own meals. It is our hope that we can work together in this respect and even take turns with meal preparation and cleanup, but there will be times when one or both of us will not be here at mealtime. You can also accompany us on shopping trips to town if there's something particular that you need. We will accept social drinking and Taggart might join you from time to time, but you will pay for your own alcohol and we expect you to act responsibly when you do.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    When you are not busy working very hard to earn your food and board, there are many things to keep you busy both on our property and in the surrounding area. If you enjoy peace and quiet, there are spots to explore on our property where you can hang a hammock, read a book, lay in the sun and whatever outdoor activities interest you! There is also a smaller creek that runs through our property and, if you're feeling adventurous, you can hike down to the river and go for a swim and hang out on our private island! Very exclusive. Keep in mind that we are somewhat isolated and you will have to keep yourself occupied

    The nearest town is Valemount, approximately 25km south of our farm. It's a small town but with many great attractions such as a new mountain bike park, the Three Ranges brewery, the Swiss bakery, and Kinbasket lake for camping and recreation. There is also endless opportunities for hiking and biking and camping throughout the entire valley, which also includes Mt. Robson provincial park - about 30km from our farm - and the Berg Lake trail. About an hour to the east is also Jasper National Park in Alberta, a beautiful mountain town and tourist mecca with countless outdoor activities and a vibrant nightlife. We make regular trips during the week to Valemount and usually once a week to Jasper, and of course you are welcome to come along for the ride!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Dieser Gastgeber nimmt gern Digital Nomads bei sich auf.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 927121245737