Small family-run organic farm near Bolsena lake, central Italy

  • Bisher 92 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 21 Juni 2024

Verfügbarkeit

  2024 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are Maia, Stella, and Lorenzo, a family from Rome who moved from the city to the countryside to experiment a new and more sustainable life. We chose to quit our full-time jobs and move to Tuscia, Viterbo province, just 1.5 hours north of Rome, next to Bolsena lake.
    We rent here an apartment within an old renovated house in the countryside between Marta and Tuscania, where we share garden, orchard, 3 cats and chickens with the owners.

    In 2019 we started our own organic farm, taking care of two hectares of land where we live and three more hectares a few kilometres away. We take care of 227 olive trees, a tiny fruit orchard, a field of aromatic and healing plants, and more recently a field of blackberries, blueberries, and raspberries.
    Our daily routine begins driving Maia to school at 8.00, then we usually work in the morning in the fields. At lunch we take a break (and a rest during the hot season), and then we work in the afternoon indoor or outdoor, according to the season. Typical works are weeding the fields, pruning trees, cutting and moving firewood, harvesting olives and aromatic plants, repairing and building stuff, labeling products, cooking meals at home, cleaning the house and more.

    We are open minded, curious, and we love to learn from other people. We enjoy cooking and we love to taste and learn recipes from all over the world. We are regular smokers, but obviously we smoke outdoor. We speak Italian, English, French, a little bit of Spanish and German.
    We can offer a private bedroom with a pullout sofa (120x190cm) and bathroom.
    A small black friendly dog, Buio, is part of the family and sleeps at home.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We are two passionate persons who care for the environment and work towards a more equal society to live in. We traveled quite a lot in the past, and we do miss cultural exchanges in our present farm life. People will profit from a stimulating environment and learn a lot about what needs to be done in the garden, to live in the Italian countryside. They will also enjoy Italian cuisine, and learn how to produce, cook, and preserve food and aromatic plants. Volunteers could visit the beauties of this area, learn some Italian, knowing us and our friends.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We would like to host people who can help us maintain and develop the garden and the olive grove, who are keen on learning about aromatic and healing plants, how to cultivate them and how to use them. Some of the seasonal jobs we expect people to help us with are: pruning, sowing, transplanting, harvesting, weeding. People with previous working/voluntary experience in these fields would be ideal, but motivation and enthusiasm are key factors. We are looking even at someone who is willing to help with the household, some maintenance or improvement works around the house. Depending on the level of experience, the length of stay, their preferences and the season: we will devise together with the volunteers the most suitable activities for them. We expect people to work 5 hours a day, on average, depending on the priorities.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Italienisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Deutsch: Grundkenntnisse
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Volunteers will be assigned a private bedroom with a pullout sofa (120x190cm) and private bathroom. Because of sleeping accommodation, we can host one or max two persons (a couple or two good friends). We ask people to clean the room and the bathroom themselves, and leave them clean at the end of their stay. They will share the kitchen and the living room with us, as well as the communal areas outside the house. There is central heating and WIFI. We are omnivore, but we do welcome people who live on other diets. We usually cook and eat together. We kindly ask volunteers to inform us of any allergies and food intolerances / needs (vegetarians, vegans, diabetics, gluten free...) beforehand.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    In the spare time people can profit from the big spaces around the house, keeping in mind they are in common with the rest of the family. Few kilometres away, on the shore of Bolsena lake, lie Marta and Capodimonte. The lake is the biggest bathing, volcanic lake in Europe. 9 kilometres away there is Tuscania, with its numerous medieval buildings; private and free open-air spa's (terme); Montefiascone; Viterbo... and other typical towns of the area, known as Tuscia. The seaside can be reached in 30 minutes.
    There is no public transport reaching our place, but we can drive volunteers from and to Marta bus stop, or Montefiascone and Tarquinia railway stations, whenever possible. Volunteers traveling by car or even by bike would take great advantage of it to moving around the area.
    Volunteers are obviously welcome to explore the area and spend some free time with us, if they like. We appreciate autonomy and personal independence too. We usually meet friends, go swimming to the lake during summer, or simply enjoy a drink at sunset or in front of the fireplace.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    we have a good wifi connection

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    you can park in the garden

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    It depends on pet's attitude because we have a dog, several cats and some chickens.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 925196519518

Feedback (2)


Weitere Bilder

Feedback

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)