Help with gardening and experience remote beaches and wildlife in Port Hardy, Canada

  • Bisher 12 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 19 Juni 2024

Verfügbarkeit

  2024 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  Keine Vorgaben

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    I have a large lot in a small rural town where I garden and raise hens. I grow a lot of my own food and enjoy cooking creatively with what I grow. I am an artist, and although I have a broad range of skills, my work is primarily in print media. I am creative and a quiet thinker; I am also productive and outdoorsy, but knee problems limit my mobility. I love water and prefer swimming in cold water. I still work full time, but hope to retire in a few years. I am interested in hosting workawayers this fall to help me cover my fruit trees in protective sheets of plywood so that a willow tree can be removed that is too close to the neighbours house (and too close to the fruit trees). I also need help painting a couple rooms inside my house.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Sprachpraxis
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I am very interested in learning about different cultures, and I would enjoy teaching English. I am also interested in learning French, and would especially enjoy the company of a workawayer who could exchange French for English skills, but I would be happy to provide a cultural exchange from anywhere.

    I live in a small fishing village in a beautiful and remote area of coastal Canada, and would love to host individuals who enjoy the outdoors. There are beaches, hiking trails, lakes, wildlife watching, camping and boating within a few km of my home. There is dramatic coastal scenery wherever you look. My home is 1.5 km from the closest beach; but there are many beaches in this region.

    You will also have the opportunity to learn about the ancient culture of the local Kwakwa̱ka̱ʼwakw people who inhabited this land long before Europeans arrived in Canada.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    I am pre-retirement and enjoy gardening, I have knee problems, so I really appreciate help with gardening and work around the house. This fall I will need help covering my fruit trees with plywood so that a willow tree can be removed nearby. There is also work in the garden, and perhaps painting a room in the house. In exchange, you will get to visit one of the most spectacular coastal wildernesses in the world.

    Potential workawayers will be interviewed via video chat to see if they would be a good fit.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    I am a native English speaker, and I am interested in learning French, but I enjoy learning about all cultures.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    I can provide a bedroom in my home with a shared or separate bathroom. You would also be welcome to camp in the backyard if you prefer. There is a fire pit in the backyard which can be used at any time, unless there are provincial fire bans due to forest fire hazard. I will cook dinner; I am an enthusiastic cook and make mainly vegetarian soups, stews(/curries) and salads. I will provide food for you to help yourself for breakfast and lunch. I have hens in the backyard, so there's often a supply of fresh eggs in spring and summer.

    I have two pet house cats, so would like workawayers who are respectful of cats. If you are allergic, then this opportunity may not be for you.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    You can make your way here from Vancouver either by air, or by ferry and bus. Car rentals are available up here, but if you arrive in your own car, there is plenty of parking. I do not loan out my own car, but there is a regional bus service that will allow you to get around locally. There is endless hiking and camping nearby, and excellent kayaking . If you prefer the slow life, comb some of the local beaches, or read a good book on the docks downtown. This is a quiet rural community, so If you're searching for urban excitement, this opportunity may not be for you. what you will find is stunning scenery; mountainous coastlines dotted with islands and wildlife. Bears, whales, otters and porpoises are common here.

    There are two small islands that you can visit that are accessible by bus and ferry: Malcolm island and Cormorant island. Both have very unique and creative histories; one First Nations, and the other northern European. Telegraph Cove is also a nice place to visit, and is the place to go if you want to make arrangements for diving, a boat tour, a whale watching tour or a kayaking trip. It is near the Broughton archipelago; an area of deep fiords, many tiny islands and bountiful wildlife.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    I have Wifi available in my home

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    I have a large driveway with lots of parking, unfortunately a lot of it is on a slope, so a smaller vehicle would be a better fit. There is a free sani-dump at the regional park 5 km away. local bylaws prohibits campervan/motorhome stays over one month.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 2-4 focussed hours/day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 919715562757

Feedback (1)

Weitere Bilder

Feedback


Home, daily tasks, and small hobby farm help in breathtaking Comox Valley, Vancouver Island, Canada
Help me with gardening in Lahave, Canada