Help needed to renovate an old house in sunny Central Portugal

Country

Portugal

Bisher 11 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    04.09.2019

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Our profile picture says it all we need help renovating a large old house in central Portugal, so if you're up for a challenge then we would love you to come and help us.
    It has a small garden with the house, and a further parcel of land near the house with olive and fruit trees. When we bought the house three and a half years ago it had not been lived in for more than 10 years, and water had been flowing through the house and land. We have stopped the water and cleared the house and the garden and land are no longer a jungle of brambles, but we are only two and so would really like some help to restore this lovely old house to its former glory.
    We are located in a very beautiful part of Portugal, 19km from Pedrógão Grande and 30km from Gois, not far from the river Zêzere.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Sonstige Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Central Portugal is a world apart from Lisbon or the Algarve, the lifestyle is simple and rustic, with the majority of people living off the land and enjoying a community based café culture.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We take delivery of a kitchen mid May and would really like some to help fit this into our space - exactly as the profile picture shows, we've bought a secondhand kitchen and will fit into the space shown.
    Other work we need help with includes painting, both inside and outside the house, gardening, help fit new ceilings in some rooms and general wood work, but basically there is so much work that what we really need are willing people to provide extra hands and energy.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    We are both native English speakers. Portuguese - we are learning very slowly. One of us speaks a LITTLE French, and the other a LITTLE German.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Volunteers will sleep in the main house, rustic, but clean. There is only one kitchen, therefore you can either eat with us, or if you prefer you can cook your own meals separately, or a mixture of the two. Currently there is also only one bathroom which will need to be shared. However, a second bathroom is planned and will be available when completed.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    In our village there is a café bar/restaurant/mini shop, we are 3km and 6km from the nearest river beaches both with café bars, if you’re a walker/hiker then there are some lovely walks and I can suggest different routes – some which you can do from the house and others just a very short bus journey/drive to the main river in the area, the Zêzere where there are some stunning walks. If you're a cyclist then likewise there are good routes and roads for cycling. The nearest main town is 19km from us, 20 min drive or 40 min bus journey (it goes around the villages). In this town are the normal amenities such as supermarket, banks, post office, library, cinema, cafes, general shops, and a mainline bus station. We are only an hour away from Coimbra, and an hour and a half from the coast, Figueira da Foz. We are in the schist villages area with museums and villages to visit. Depending on the time of year there is kayaking, and different water sports available not to far, and river boat trips.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Entirely flexible due to the heat. Would suggest work early mornings, 4 hours a day, five days a week.

View of the village while out walking
The house
The garden
The garden
Cabril dam near Pedrogao Grande (19km from us), swimming pontoon, kayaking facilties, and awesome walks and can also cycle along some of the paths.
The house
Alvares river beach and cafe, 3km from our village.

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 919644399589