Join our family and learn to survive on the remote Scoraig peninsula, Scotland, UK

Country

Großbritannien

Bisher 319 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    16.08.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    63.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 9 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a couple, Chris is 68 and I, Anna am 56 living on a remote and stunningly beautiful peninsula in the north west highlands of Scotland. Chris has lived here for almost 40 years and I for 25 years. We have a croft (small farm of 5 and a half acres) on the south side of Loch Broom. We have lived here for many years and created an organic garden that supplies ourselves and our guests with fresh fruit and vegetables, we have planted many trees of various types. Chris has spent all his adult life as an organic gardener and is an expert when it comes to horticulture in this part of the world. We survive well but do need help as we grow older and the children are no longer here. We have been hosts for many years so we are used to welcoming people as volunteers from all over the world, young and old and from all backgrounds. We need help in a hands-on practical way but do not expect people to work on their own or without teaching them how to do whatever task is asked of them. We especially seek those who enjoy the outdoors, have a happy disposition and are looking for an adventure! There is abundant wildlife here, from sea eagles to deer as well as dolphins and the occasional whale!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Travellers would benefit in several ways: for example in learning the skills needed to work toward being self-sufficient, surviving in a remote part of the world. Building without regulation but with inspiration and innovation, using stone and timber sourced from the croft. There is also the opportunity, depending on the season, to go fishing and hill walking in the wonderful landscape that surrounds us on the Scoraig peninsula. We live within a thriving small alternative community of around 90 people so there can be opportunities to socialise but our croft is situated away from our nearest neighbours offering seclusion, solitude and peace for meditation and rest. We are off-grid, our power comes from the wind and sun, so there is scope for those who might be interested in this specifically. We are 5 miles from the nearest road, access is by sea or footpath. Travellers may learn not only how to grow their own food but how to harvest, store and obviously cook and eat it!

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Forestry tasks including chopping wood for fuel is an essential part of our lives and we would love help with this. Also gardening and building tasks. The help we would like with the garden depends on the season but can be anything from weeding, sowing, planting out, collecting storm-washed seaweed from the nearby shore to be used as a fertiliser etc.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    Spanish: Grundkenntnisse
    Hungarian: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Accommodation will be either in our bothy or in a private bedroom in our own home. We are mainly vegetarian but do eat fish caught by ourselves and sometimes venison that is wild from the hills in this area.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are remote even by highland standards, there are 3 buses a week from Inverness that take a traveller within a few miles of where we live, the remaining journey we can arrange by ferry. Hitch hiking is an accepted mode of transport in this area due to the long distances and lack of public transport. If travelling by car there are two options, the first to park up at a place called Badrallach and walk 5 miles to our croft or park at the jetty at Badluarach and get a ferry by arrangement across Little Loch Broom and then there is a 2 mile walk from Scoraig Jetty to our place. A reasonable level of fitness is required. Time off would normally be 2 full days a week and might include relaxing, walking, visiting, looking at the other self-built houses on scoraig which are very interesting as no planning regulations are adhered to here. This would depend on what our workaways would enjoy doing of course and what the weather is like too.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week for one to two weeks only

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (4.5)





Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 919532223664