Help in the garden and woodland and also with some renovations in a beautiful house, Kilkenny Ireland



Bisher 82 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Last email replied


    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 3 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

  • Beschreibung


    Hi there, I live on a small farm in rural Ireland and have two grown up daughters who live independently. The current projects underway here are building a barn, renovating a small 1 bed stone cottage and building an off-grid tree house. I work for myself in education for sustainability and produce a podcast series on the topic. I have travelled abroad and have many international connections through my work so I am used to international cultural exchanges. Several of my friends here locally invite volunteers to for their projects and we regularly get together to help the cultural exchange. I recognise that I cannot do all I want to do here with this lovely place and so I am involving others. The project is to develop a social enterprise with others who can develop their own projects on the land and share in what this place has to offer.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I work in education for sustainability and have quite a lot of international experience so I offer a respectful learning environment to helpers. I enjoy sharing my knowledge and experiences with others. I have plenty of social connections locally and there is a lot of interesting activity going on so you will have plenty to do in your time off.

  • Arbeit


    Thank you for taking the time to read my profile. I live in a beautiful house in the south east of Ireland about 140 kilometers from Dublin and 3 kilometers from the small town of Graig-na-Managh, Co Kilkenny which has daily buses to Kilkenny city. I live on 15 hectares (35 acres) which include 7 hectares (20 acres) of native woodland with pathways and a waterfall. I am involved in several different projects and am looking forward to welcoming you to my home and getting some help around here. I am developing a social enterprise around a sustainable community based on the land here.

    The current projects underway here are building a barn, renovating a small 1 bed stone cottage and building an off-grid tree house.
    I always need help around the house and garden. In the house I need painting and general DIY help so some building skills would be great. There is a vegetable garden and I need help keeping this going.; the help will be varied and interesting and we can perhaps teach each other new skills.

    I will also need help with preparing another small 1 bedroom house and this would involve basic building and painting. I have quite a few building skills myself so I just need support on this project but someone with building/handyman experience would be very useful.

    I am working in the woodland joining the two little footpaths that are there in a manner that creates a loop walk without disturbing the trees too much. This also involves building some features such as stone seats and walls, a small bridge, shelters etc.

    I would hope that the tasks would be varied and interesting for you and you would not be doing the same tasks all the time.

    . I would want someone to stay at least two weeks. I have put a selection of photos of my house and lands on the site.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft


    You would live in a spare room in my house which I restored about 20 years ago so it has all the necessities of life. You would have your own room and share the bathroom and the rest of the house. I would provide home cooked meals and comfortable surroundings. You would be expected to help 5 hours per day, 5 days per week. Ideally, I am looking for someone who has general handyman/building and/or gardening experience. I could also do with some social media skills as I am trying to promote this project.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The rest of the time you would be free to explore the magical fairy woodland here and loads of lovely places locally.
    Graig-na-Managh is a small town of 1800 people and has a lovely river flowing through it which during the summer is a good bathing spot and has because years ago the river was important commercially it has a tow path all along it for walking. There are shops, library, community activities and lively bars to explore in the town. There is a bus to Kilkenny everyday which would allow you to visit this thriving medieval city.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    About 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.3)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 911652443744