Join a couple of foodies living in and restoring an old farmhouse in Aquitaine, France..

Country

Frankreich

Bisher 26 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    27.11.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

  • Abzeichen

 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Crazy corona times mean we are keen to find a couple to come and stay to help out! We are an English couple living in an old farmhouse that my parents bought 40 years ago. We are foodies and we love to eat the amazing food from this region of France! We are gradually turning this into an organic kitchen garden that can supply our dining table with tasty delights in all seasons. Corona and lockdown and quarantine have slowed us down...but Piers is here full time and would love some help from a couple who'd like to live here for a while, relax, and occasionally join in with the work

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Carla runs two holistic health and beauty and hair businesses in London. She is a superb cook. Piers has a voiceover recording studio here in France. He lived for many years on an organic farm, and he has presented TV shows about tribal life and health care around the world. He brews Ginger Beer and Elderflower Champagne and makes kimchi. Piers is also a singer and musician and loves to make music and fun around the fire. The South West of France is a foodies paradise and and this property is in the Entre Deux Mers wine region. We are on a mission to find all the best places to visit and eat at within a 50 mile radius! We speak some French...but are always up for learning more!

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Corona craziness means we'd really prefer a couple who can stay a while. We enjoy having fun people to stay who want to help with these kind of things: We can teach you how to prepare and use traditional limestone mortar/whitewash. Gardeners welcome! There is a small wildflower meadow here that we are gradually turning into vegetable and herb gardens. We are planting fruit and nut trees plus doing some forest gardening in the little oak wood. The house itself is comfortable but there's always maintenance to be done, especially on the real old walls made only with rocks and lime mortar...one part of the property is a Medieval tithe barn. There's also lots of projects outside like getting the two water wells back into operation, turning an old wine vat into a plunge pool, BBQ and firepits...maybe an outdoors pizza oven (Carla bakes her own sourdough bread). General light building skills are always useful, carpentry skills welcome as well! There is a very well equipped workshop here in the garage with all the power tools etc and garden machinery. There is also a good supply of bamboo that has been properly dried and seasoned...so there's no shortage of projects to get involved with depending on your skills and interests. But we also have our own office work to do online - so it's a fairly relaxed life here! There's also the cuddliest cat who will find you wherever you are and demand some attention!

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    English: Fließend
    Spanish: Grundkenntnisse
    French: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    You get your own double room. There's a bathroom with lavatory and bidet...and a shower room with lavatory downstairs, both shared with your hosts. There's always plenty of hot water. There are two sitting rooms so plenty of space. Wifi and Netflix! And a hammock outside with new slackline between an oak and a giant redwood...where we encourage you to laze around for hours. There's also tents and inflatable mattresses here if you want to live in the woods for a while. We tend to start the day with a fresh fruit smoothie, followed by something like a homemade kimchi omelette...and fine foods for lunch and dinner - we tend to celebrate mealtimes!

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are in the countryside. There's a French couple next door, and a farmer at the bottom of the hill (delicious eggs!). There's two bicycles you can borrow...and we are always happy to drop you off in Marmande, or La Reole or Bordeaux. We have been Super Hosts on another platform for many years...and we like our guests to relax and to want to come back again!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    French rural broadband is not super fast....but we also have satellite internet....a scanner..a printer....and a broadcast quality voiceover recording studio!

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Yeah I think all motorhomes would fit here...except the really huge ones!

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    We have a friendly cat...but a nice dog is a happy addition!

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    2 or 3 hours a day, maybe five days a week...but all flexible - we need to do our other jobs as well!



Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 898288512747