Help needed with DIY and gardening projects on our fruit farm near Almuñécar, Spain

  • Bisher 15 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 30 Jan. 2024



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche



  • Beschreibung


    We retired to our fruit farm on the Costa Tropical, Granada after almost twenty years living Granada City. We are a married couple Harold(73) and Kate (62) Harold ran a recording studio while I did promotion and organised gigs and tours in Granada. We still have a music room in our farmhouse which, with it’s log burner, is the perfect place to be in winter. Occasionally he will still record a flamenco guitarist in there but mostly it is our winter living space with dining table, TV and sofa. Most of the year we eat outside on the large terrace in the sunshine overlooking the Valley of the Swallows.

    It is a small non commercial farm, 2,000 metres square built on terraces that step down to a dry river bed that runs to the sea only 1 kilometre away, easy walking distance to the lovely beaches and beach bars. We grow tropical fruit including mangoes, dragon fruit, passion fruit, avocados, citrus, peach, plum and apricot as well as having a vegetable patch. On one side we have a nispero field and the other an avocado grove. The neighbours we do have are far enough away not to be bothered by the piano playing. The nearest town is Almunecar, an old fishing town that fills with tourists in the summer months, only a ten minute drive or bus ride, and luckily we are right by the last bus stop out of town.

    We have six rescue cats and take care of a few more wild strays who feel no need to be domesticated but appreciate the food. I work as a volunteer for an animal rescue, occasionally running the stall at the local Sunday market to raise money.

    Our reason for opening up the house to work aways is to to tackle projects that need a bit more muscle than we have. The dry river bed needs clearing and shoring up. The bottom meadow needs digging, we have a rotivator . We would like to build proper steps to go up and down the terraces and an outdoor shower would be welcome by the swimming pool. There is also always weeding and pruning.

    The house is a typical farm bungalow which previously housed two families, which we knocked into one. Consequently we have two kitchens and two bathrooms so there is privacy for us and any visitors. Ideally we are looking for a couple.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We both speak Spanish and have been immersed in Spanish life for over 25 years being involved in musical and film projects. I am in my early 60s and studied at Granada University, specializing in Spanish culture, history, literature and art. Harold has spent his whole life in the music industry as a musician and music producer.

  • Arbeit


    We have the necessary machines, cement mixer, rotivator, strimmer etc to tackle most tasks experience would be useful but not essential. Most of the help required is clearing the river bed and shoring up the sides, strimming the terraces, pruning fruit trees and building steps for easy access.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Unterkunft


    There is a spare double bedroom, so ideal for a couple, and a communal kitchen and bathroom as well as a communal lounge/dining room which we call the music room as it houses the piano and guitars. We have our own separate kitchen, bathroom and living room. Depending on the weather, which is usually fantastic, we eat outside. There is a heated pool which we use from around April to November. Breakfast is included and would be self service. Lunch would be sandwiches and an evening meal provided. Harold is vegetarian but I am not so everyone is catered for.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are ideally situated to explore the local coastal towns of Almunecar, Salobrena and Motril as well as the Alpujarra mountains. The local area provides lots of walking opportunites and the beaches for water activities. The City of Granada and Malaga are less than an hours drive away, there are also regular buses.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 896118292942

Weitere Bilder