Sustainable living and easy access to a northern community and permaculture farm in Alberta, Canada

Country

Kanada

Bisher 146 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    19.01.2021

 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a small farm and greenhouse operation in northern alberta, working with hemp, medicinal herbs and preparing for Solar Energy install and EV upgrades. we are a couple with 2 young boys so may need some help around the house too. We are well travelled as our son has already lived in 5 different countries so we welcome different cultures to share our farm. The greenhouse is located on the edge of the town of lac la biche in northern alberta. The setting is very rustic and great for outdoor enthusiasts. Your stay will be very near the lake( 1 mile)and we have bikes, canoe and kayak and small fishing boat to explore the area. For the Earthship build, we are looking to get it started this year once the crops are planted
    we would be interested in a long-term au-pair to help with the boys and the homeschooling
    permaculture principles play a key role in our wildcraft crops and solar energy is something that we want to encourage for all farmers to diversify their revenue.
    2019 spring/summer should include some of the following projects:
    --hemp gardening: growing, transplanting and watering the greenhouse, etc
    -planting our greenhouse and gardens
    -improving the watering system of the greenhouse
    -hempcrete build on a lean-to and garage happening now
    -roof repair of garage
    -solar hotwater system installed
    -Earthship build, we are starting from scratch, breaking ground first of august
    -micro-generation and EV charging systems:
    -EV charger and solar installations with two EV's in the yard which need work
    -greywater installation for the site
    upcycling skills are useful here as DIY is permaculture and you can expect some small projects such as finishing the compost toilet roof, solarium for house, bunkhouse from old grain building,
    -we do volunteer work for the keepers of the athabasca environmental group
    2020 january we would be interested in a long term house sitter who could look after things without much supervision as we have some travel in our plans. the work would include feeding two cats and learning to make tea and a few projects to prepare for the spring

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Karitative Arbeit
    Sprachpraxis
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
    Unterrichten

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    sustainable living and northern alberta hardy culture, working with hemp; growing, transplanting, gardening
    easy access to a northern community(Lac La Biche) to experience the culture it has to offer

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    ,solarium for the house,starting and growing and maintaining new plants, We are very interested in developing an eco-friendly world so any knowledge of solar, medicinal plants, herbs, organic and permiculture would be a bonus.

    Help will not be overally physical with most time spent on the greenhouse acreage though we are starting an Earthship Farm building on 1/4 of land as well. We are researching making our own herb kits, i We have a small book store on the property and want to add a vegetable stand and wildcraft goods made locally Volunteers will have plenty of time to visit and explore the area. biking is available and encouraged as well as tennis and we could use help with a webpage project. Lots to do and the place is rustic, we will be working on more than one site and we sometimes help local farmers with an old fashion work bee as we would like to encourage organic food in the area.
    we are involved with the keepers of the athabasca and ARREA which is a budding solar cooperative so we often volunteer with these groups in the athabasca area.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    Spanish: Fließend
    French: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    one bedroom available in the house or small trailer or tenting in the yard with full use of the homestead

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    area is a lakefront community, we are 1.5km from the lake, one block from a pool and gymnasium and hospital and tennis and other sports are a short bike ride/jog away at the Bold Centre(50 million dollar sports complex)
    bike trails all around the lake, we have canoe, kayak, bikes, small row fishing boat as this area is paradise for the outdoorman/woman. normally there is plenty of time to visit the area and do some camping so camping gear is useful

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 872293596731