Help with olive harvest, gardening and enjoy nature on an ecological olive grove in Cataluña, Spain

Country

Spanien

Bisher 62 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    21.09.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 5 Tage

  • Abzeichen

 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hola y Bienvenidos to our beautiful, authentic Finca in warm and sunny Cataluña, Spain!

    UPDATE: Currently, we can need many helping hands for the olive harvest season (November- January)! :)

    We own and work on a piece of land (2,8 hectares) in the countryside in southern Cataluña, in the province of Tarragona. My name is Gerrit and I'm regularly living here in Spain. From time to time, I go back to Germany though, so it depends on the month or the weeks you want to come if I’m in Spain or not. My sister-in-law and her husband live nearby, too, and sometimes family members or friends are here to help and visit me. The more people we are, the nicer the shared time will be!

    The way we cultivate the property is ecological, sustainable and as gentle as possible for the ground, trees and plants. This means we don't use pesticides or synthetic fertilizer. When there is olive harvesting season, we crop the olives in a traditional way, however, using some smaller machines to rip the olives off the branches.

    We have bought a piece of land in the olive hills in the area in 2004 with the family and since then we have been working on the countryside during holidays, constructed the wooden timber houses, have taken care of the property and the garden as well as the trees and have made the place a great home. On the site we have an old rural house (Finca) made out of stone which functions as a storage room, a caravan and two wooden log houses to live in.

    We have running water (cold & hot) and electricity, but as water is a valuable good here, we save it as much as possible. We usually get drinking water by filling up gallons from a natural fountain with cristal clear water, it’s approx. 20 km far from the Finca. In summer, we have some fans and in winter, we have an old tile stove to heat the house with wood and coal briquet. In the sleeping room next to the stone house, we can heat during winter with an electric radiator.

    Life is rather simple, but we enjoy exactly this atmosphere and simplicity at our place. It is very calm, peaceful and you are surrounded by nature here. Some neighbors live in the surroundings, but you have a lot of free space around you. We don’t have Wifi or TV, but there's phone and internet signal up here (though not in every corner) 😉

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Sprachpraxis
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    It is necessary to have a car to move around, we can offer you bikes and I am happy to give you rides to the closer towns. We can go grocery shopping together and show you some nice places around here. The towns L’Ampolla and Amposta have a direct train connection to Barcelona and Valencia. The closest airport is in Barcelona-El Prat and 1 ½ hour by car from our place or 2 hours by train. Tarragona (60 km) is a beautiful city with a roman amphitheatre (Unesco World Heritage), but there are amazing sites like the Miravet castle (40 km) or an old castle in Tortosa (30 km) as well as many rice fields nearby which offer awesome opportunities to watch birds. All that makes the area worth a visit and stay.
    I speak German and English, but I am happy to practice my Spanish, too.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We will need help with different daily tasks depending on the season and would be glad to have some helping hands with the following:

    - General maintenance around the houses (keeping it clean and tidy up from time to time)
    - Garden work (cutting plants and roses, chipping weeds)
    - Cutting olive trees and chipping suckers
    - Burning cut branches of trees, chopping fire wood
    - Build up stone walls (partially broken)
    - Mowing the grass between the trees with brushcutter and mowing machines
    - Help building/constructing an outer kitchen (new roof) in a timber house
    - Help with harvesting olives (November-January)

    It would come in handy if volunteers knew about constructing or about handling machines like cordless screwdriver, chainsaw, keyhole saw, brushcutter etc. However, Gerrit can also show you how to use these machines.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Deutsch: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Volunteers can live in one of the wooden houses in a separate room, bathroom and kitchen are shared. There is as well the possibility to live next to the stone house in a new sleeping room next to a shower/bathroom.
    If you like and the climate is warm, you can also sleep in the caravan "Blue Moon".

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Depending on the time of the year, you can feel free to enjoy the diversity of fruits and nuts which grow here: oranges, lemons, grenades, persimmons, figs, almonds, walnuts, grapes, mispli fruit. It’s really a small paradise when it’s fruit season.

    A bigger city nearby is Tortosa, the smaller towns nearby are l’Ampolla and Camarles or Aldea. The property is located in the area of the beautiful Ebro Delta (a big river in Spain, there are plenty of fish and seafood in the river and in the Delta). The old fisher village l’Ampolla is a touristic place today with a nicely built promenade, but it still maintains its traditional charme at the harbour and in the small streets. The sand beaches that can be reached by car within 10-30 minutes are amazing, especially some larger beaches called Marquesa and Eucalyptus where you can go for hours for a walk.
    The smaller beaches close to l’Ampolla are pretty, too, and in summer and autumn you can go for a swim easily (in spring or winter season only for the tough guys, because the sea gets cold) 😉 The beaches here are perfect to go for long walks or a run.

    If you like to know more about l'Ampolla, you can visit the official website of the town: ampolla.org

    If you are interested in helping on this beautiful piece of land and experience rural life in Spain, you are very welcome to come and stay at the Finca.

    IMPORTANT:
    In order to help and volunteer at the property, we ask every volunteer to have a valid MEDICAL INSURANCE during your stay in Spain!
    The volunteer work is always at your own risk and we can't take the responsibility if you hurt yourself or you get seriously sick. The insurance is crucial for your stay.

    When contacting us, please:

    Write a little bit about yourself, your age, what you are/ were doing before traveling (job, studies etc), if you are alone or a couple and if you already have some experience in working with machines or with agricultural tasks.

    We're looking forward to hearing from you soon – feel free to ask any questions you may have regarding the stay, the work etc.

    Hasta luego! Gerrit and Laura

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 864748889613