Help out with gardening and painting, sanding, filling, fiddling, renovating, creating in the Minervois, France

  • Frankreich
  • Bisher 75 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 22.01.2023



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche



  • Beschreibung


    I'm an artist : ex art teacher living and working here in the Minervois France. I am dedicating the current slice of my life to finishing off my house so I can go back to art projects which were forever preventing me to finish MY space.
    I have 3 grown up children 2 who live and work fairly nearby and who have given me so much help I'm embarrassed to ask for more, I want them to create their spaces in the world and I try to help them in their projects. My daughter is a photographer in Sétes, France and my second son is involved in Viking reenacting trying to make his way recreating viking objects with original materials and specifications. I live in the big old café (now not a café!) in a typically French village deep in the beautiful Minervois region about 25 minutes from Carcassonne. I grow loads of Mediterranean veg. (think ratatouille etc), generally eat veg in preference to meat, bio in preference to supermarket, but don't hold any grudges one way or another..."flexiterrian" and appreciate others open to other influences too. (probably because of my art background , ie: open to new influences/ideas?... etc.). I would consider myself a socialist and appreciate egalitarian views, but as you are travelling and reading on this site that would probably mean you anyway. I need help on my project, I need new perspectives and influences, the idea of asking for help is also an opportunity to give, to meet nice people and to share.
    I love this area and would enjoy showing you it. I have a gite and so am used to bringing tourists to this lovely region.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Two sites of international importance within half an hour (Carcassonne, Canal du Midi) Minerve (listed as one of Frances most beautiful villages) nearby. Medieval villages, Canal du Midi, stone age remains, Gorges, garrigue, climbing, walking, swimming in rivers and gorges (or the Mediterranean) Markets, vide greniers, pétanque, local festivals, basically just depends when and whats too (but this is the south of France so that's usually good)
    Obviously I'm available to take you places and to share events with you
    the initial photos are ideas of places I may take you to explore

  • Arbeit


    I think the big work will be out of the way by the time (and if) i have any responses. Everybody has different ideas of big work, but the floors/ceilings will be finished (yup that sounds big, but there are rooms complete for living ie. where we live, eat, relax).
    The garden always needs bits doing and I need loads of painting, sanding, filling, fiddling, scratching, nailing, plastering, fixing wall boarding, renovation, creation...all depends on if and when and of course you?
    I have jobs for all skill levels, they change all the time, I shall give you instruction, you will work within your comfort levels
    Basically lots of extra hands and new enthusiasm, skills can be taught, new languages learnt in the process, I speak English and French.
    I have a lovely gite in a beautiful nearby village and help could be great sometimes
    You will have to come with me on hikes, I can take you to local events/festivals and of course, learn and play pétanque with my French friends, etc.
    It all depends on you
    I have studio spaces for sculpture / painting etc which you can make free use of also, in your time off

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    You have your own room, bathroom is shared, Chill out areas = lounge, terrace, garden.
    Kitchen is shared and depending on season is indoors or summer kitchen outdoors in the terrace area.
    Food is provided (you are welcome to help), wine is mainly Minervois red, but we're sensitive to white/rosé and beer drinkers, meat eaters are tolerated (just joking), vegetarians welcome, vegans will have to teach me some tricks.
    Humour and smiling essential at all times

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    plenty of things to do in time off, shall give you lots of ideas, the photos are there to get you started, if you don't have your own list. Bikes available and I do a lot of hiking so you can help me with that (climbing initiation for nutters, equipment provided) swimming in rock pools (it gets hot here)

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 856916566554

Feedback (6)

Weitere Bilder