Hilf mit Bauprojekten und Tieren auf einem kleinen Bauernhof in Yukon. Whitehorse, Kanada

  • Kanada
  • Bisher 324 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 24 Mai 2023



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  Keine Vorgaben



  • Beschreibung


    The farm is a small 5 hectare farm in the building stages in the Yukon shared by 2 partners. Currently there are pigs, chickens, ducks and turkeys and a small garden. We are in the process of starting to build an insulated greenhouse and several other smaller buildings made from primarily natural materials such as logs, stone and straw bales. We are looking for help on some of these projects as well as help to look after the animals and small garden and fruit trees, as well as move things around and tidy up the property. We would also like help with preparing meals and cleaning up. People with building experience would be an asset, but we are more interested in an eagerness to learn and participate.

    Right now there is a small straw bale cabin that we share and we have a camper trailer for guests or helpers to stay in and there are some beautiful spots for tenting as well. The farm is close to Lake Laberge and about 30 minutes from Whitehorse. The cabin is a bit rustic but funky and comfortable and there is an outhouse and no running water. There is solar power and internet but they are a both limited, especially as the days become shorter into the fall and winter.

    At the moment both our lives are very busy and we both work off the farm as well. I have been a natural builder working primarily with straw bale construction and have also worked with renewable energy for the past 15 years. I have a degree in biology and have worked in the past in various places in the Canadian arctic. I am a commercial bush pilot and am employed doing this and when I have free time I try to run, swim, bike , hike and enjoy the outdoors. Jodi works in town at the library and also does contract work related to food security. She has a background in Native Newcomer History, as well as horticulture and is active and loves to spend as much time on the farm as her busy schedule allows.

    In the summer I am away frequently and we are primarily looking for independent and mature people (We don't care about age) that will ensure the animals are fed and safe and couples are definitely welcome. We want to promote a social atmosphere where people are valued and welcome, as well as having input into the things that affect them directly. People are welcome in the cabin for cooking and eating and socializing, however some days I have to get up at 4 AM for early flights and on these days I would ask for folks to leave the cabin early.

    Work ethic and honesty are very important and we are asking for 5 hours a day, 5 days a week. We are flexible about days and times of day worked as long as people are willing to help make sure we coordinate days and feeding times so the animals are always taken care of and the plants get water. I am hopeful volunteers will get a lot out of the farm and the work on it, but as well the Yukon is a magical vast wilderness with many adventures to be had and we encourage people to take advantage of that as well. There is great hiking from the house and the cabin looks over the lake which is about an hour hike away. The Yukon has amazing hiking, mountain biking, paragliding, fishing, wildlife viewing, birding, camping, paddling, skiing....

    We have strong focus on sustainability but we believe this is a complex issue that everyone has different ideas about. We try to eat locally and organic as much as possible which does mean we eat both wild meat as well as the animals that are raised on the farm. This being said there are a lot of vegetables seasonally and we are both happy to try to accommodate vegetarian diets which we both enjoy ourselves. We would need people to help with the cooking and would welcome anyone who really enjoys doing this. We believe food is important and will try to ensure there is good fresh ingredients available.

    The welfare of the animals is very important and we try to ensure they are treated humanely with enough space and always allowed access to the outdoors whenever possible. They are fed organic grain sourced as close to Whitehorse as we can get, and at the moment we mill this ourselves or we soak and sprout the grain. Chickens are raised in mobile pens, the layers are in a yard as are the turkeys and ducks. The pigs are in pens with small buildings to get out of the weather. There are 2 dogs on the property.

    For anyone that is interested in what they have read please send us an email. Thanks to any of you who have read this far, hope your travels are full of adventure.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Betreuung von Tieren
  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    This is an opportunity to learn about alternative building permaculture start up and animal care.

  • Arbeit


    Looking primarily for help with building projects and feeding animals twice a day as well as gardening. The feeding takes about 1/2 an hour in the morning and evening. The building projects are mostly straw bale and timbers.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    Accommodation is either in a camper or tenting. Meals are prepared and eaten in the main cabin.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There is lots of hiking, canoeing and other outdoor activities close by. The Takinni hot springs are about 20 minutes away by car and Whitehorse is about 30 minutes.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    Maximum 5hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 848694921752

Feedback (6)

Weitere Bilder