Mithilfe in Haus und Garten gesucht auf ländlichem Anwesen in der Nähe von Adelaide, Südaustralien

Country

Australien

Bisher 60 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    07.07.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  1 Woche oder weniger

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    My partner (Della) and I (Louise) live in a scenic part of the Adelaide Hills surrounded by beautiful hills, many birds and often a koala or two. Peaceful and secluded and yet we are just a 30 minute drive to the centre of Adelaide. Having been in the workforce for many years, both of us have recently taken the opportunity spend more time on our land, as well as pursue other interests. Della has had a long term interest in learning languages and is presently learning Spanish. I now have lots more time to spend in my own garden and also volunteer as a garden guide at the Adelaide Botanic Gardens. Travel, reading, cooking, tennis, travel and art are some of our other interests.

    We built our rammed-earth, energy efficient home 10 years ago with the aim of using local resources that reduce our impact on the environment. We collect our own rainwater, grow our on wood for heating in winter and incorporate solar power into our energy requirements. In the 1980's we became interested in mudbrick building and with the help of friends erected a mud brick hut for weekend stays. With the addition of a new studio next to the mudbrick cabin we now regularly host paying guests through another online rental website in these areas.

    A major and ongoing project for us has been returning most of the 13 acres back to a native bush land. So for more than 20 years we have been working at removing invasive weeds such as olives, blackberries and broom as well as planting native species. This is an ongoing project but we definitely can see that we have less weeds, more native plants and an increasing variety of wildlife making their homes in this area.

    A smaller section of our land is dedicated to our home and garden. In this section we grow vegetables, keep chooks and continue to develop a garden filled with mostly native and Mediterranean plants. The other household member is our black labrador, Angus.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Sprachpraxis
    Kunstprojekte
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We enjoy meeting people from around the world whether meeting them as our rental guests or through travel. Having travelled much of Australia we have gained a wide knowledge of interesting and off the beaten track places to visit. Staying with us will provide the opportunity to learn more and hopefully see Australian wildlife ie koalas, kangaroos, kookaburras and Australian plants. At certain times of the year we see a variety of Australian orchids. If you like birds more that 60 species have been sighted on our property.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Enthusiasm, initiative and completing a job are the most important factors we appreciate from any workawayer. Of course if you have already a range of skills we will work together to find jobs that meet your skill level. Depending on the time of your stay you could be involved in a specific task or a combination of tasks. This could include the following
    Landcare - may include hand weeding, chainsawing, spraying weeds
    Painting - deck areas, doors, outdoor furniture
    Fire wood - moving and stacking, chainsawing, kindling
    Spring Cleaning - sweeping, window cleaning, vacuuming
    Art project - mosaics, sculpture
    Gardening - mowing, weeding, pruning, planting

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    French: Fließend
    Italian: Fließend
    Spanish: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We are offering Ruby our retro caravan. She is located in a beautiful and private location on our property surrounded by the Australian bush. Ruby comes with two quite narrow single beds and bedding. The cooking area contains a gas cooktop, microwave, small fridge, sink and all cutlery, plates and saucepans. We provide a small bbq too and outside seating. The sitting area in Ruby is at the front of the van with table.

    Built in the 1970s she does not come with air-con but we do provide an electric heater. The shower is nearby in the show-shed, a 3-sided building offering great views of the bush on one side. The water for the shower is heated by an instant gas heater. The toilet is a thunderbox just a little way up the hill. If you like luxury this is not for you. If you are looking for an adventure with some quirkiness then Ruby may fit the bill.

    Ruby connected to electricity and mains water. Phone connection is limited to Telstra only. Wi-fi is available in our courtyard of our home about 200m from Ruby.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Preferably you will have your own transport as the closest public transport is about a 10 minute drive away in Blackwood where there are public buses and a train station, The train takes 35 minutes to the centre of Adelaide.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 848196417925