Help with renovation projects on the Sandavágur, Faroe Islands


Faroe Islands

Bisher 89 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  1 Woche oder weniger

  • Beschreibung


    We are a young couple. Villiam works as a machine engineer and Annika is an artist/hiking guide. We have traveled a lot ourselves. We love sailing on sailboats, meeting new people and exploring different cultures around the world.

    We are looking for help on re-building/ renovating our house. So we are ONLY looking for help in construction and building. It's very important that you see yourself in that sort of setting. There is no need to have a wast knowledge, but you need to be willing to learn and work in this setting.

    We will be working together all day so when the evening comes, we like to eat a meal and retire early. For us it is paramount that you don't need us to entertain you. If that means you like surfing the internet, watching films, or going on hikes, exploring the Faroese culture. It doesn't matter for us, as long as you are not expecting us to carry your happiness and fulfillment. We can provide a lovely house, good food and good conversations over the occasional beer and we can even drive you to some of the top sights in the Faroes for an outing, this is in exchange for a 'can do attitude' and a good working moral. We are not offering 'entertainment' if you are the type that get's bored a lot. This you will need to find on your own. Also, alcohol is not part of what we consider food, so this you will have to buy yourself in case you like drinking.

    The village has many great hikes, a lovely cafe by the sea, a shop, a small park, a beach, 2 large gorges, the church has a rune stone on display, there is a pizza and a Thai place near by, there is a pub that sometimes is open. There is a cinema in the capital. There is the night bus that takes you to and from the capital in the weekend in case you are looking to go for a late night out on the town. So there is no need to get bored.

    We are very laid back and don't like drama. So please, if you are the type of person that has feelings of grandeur or entitlement then please don't contact us. Here we are all the same. We work the same, eat the same quality food and have equally good living/sleeping arrangements etc. Also needless to say, we cannot read minds, so please communicate in case you have something on your mind :)

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You will learn about the Faroese culture, try Faroese food. We'll tell you about our legends, history, fun fact etc. Annika works as a guide in the Faroes so there is a lot for you to see and hear. You can borrow the car as much as you like. If you like fishing, we can show you the best spots on both the sea or in the lakes and you can borrow our fishing rod as well. If you are here while we gather all the sheep. You are more then welcome to join, it's quite the sight to see hundreds of sheep from all corners of the mountains gather. You might also learn some skills from the work itself.

  • Arbeit


    You need to have a level of English good enough so that we can communicate, be fit and healthy and able to use logic, reason, common sense and a good mental attitude. If you believe you have these qualities, then you will be in for a good time.

    You need to be willing to prepare you own food sometimes and find your own entertainment.

    We only have a week together. Out of this we are looking for a 25 hour week. How this is spread out is flexible. If we see that you are a great workawayer we will be very willing to long your stay.

    Preferably the schedule for a day will look like this: You have the morning off until about 1-2pm This is a great time to go for hikes, feed the geese and ducks, find a great spot and do some yoga, exercise, paint, read, write, reflect, create the puppets you always wanted for you puppet theater (there is a workshop in the garage), etc. We will pick you up at 1-2pm, grab a tea to go and then we drive to the capital to help on the house until 6-7pm then we drive home for a meal and go our separate ways for the night. We are quite social and talkative during the daytime but we normally go to bed pretty early about 7-8pm.

    We will be doing the same work along side you on most days, but not always. So you need to be okay with sometimes working on your own. We like to make work a fun and sociable experience as much as we can.

    We are very excited to host you and will do our very best to make your stay a great experience. We hope for a 'can do attitude' and completely get the 'something for something' concept. We are not interested in hosting people that don't put in the time and effort needed and will ask you to leave in case that gets necessary :)

    We don't smoke. But you are welcome to smoke outside if you smoke.

    Below are the types of projects you would be meeting:

    -1 project could be to insulate the ceiling inside the house.

    -1 project could be insulating one side of the house (there are 4 sides, so 4 of these). Hammer and drill knowledge a plus here. This will be done with the newest method, cross insulated with stone wool. There are very high insulation standards in the Faroes.

    -1 project could be the small basement (3x 6 square meters) removing small fist size rocks and some mud, to make the room taller. Hosing and cleaning the stone builder walls so that it starts looking like a real room. Then spraying foam into the deepest cracks and then applying mortar in between the stones to make it look well groomed and kept. A total makeover. Before and after photos will look amazing.

    -1 project could be making a stone wall with natural rock outside. We have been collecting beautiful rocks for some time now. These rocks will be a decorative wall, that will be cemented with concrete for a firm hold. These walls make such a big difference in any landscape.

    -1 project could be to build a windbreaker out of wood around the front door. A little box 1x 2 meters, 2 meters high. This will reshape the look of the house. And be the solution we need with a small house like this one.

    *The following project to this one could be to put a turf roof (grass roof) on top of the little building and painting it. Like everything else, we like pretty things. In the Faroes we don't have extravagant flowers or colorful trees, so we need to build everything pretty.

    -1 project could be to use an excevator, and dig up a ditch around 2 sides of the house (one 5 and one 4 meters ditch) to put a drain in. The excevator is very easy to operate no experience needed. This because the basement floor get's vet when it rains a lot, this moist air is not good for the wooden beams holding up the house and the rusting oil tank that can start leaking. So we really need to get the surrounding soil to be dry.

    *The following project to this one could be to put down antique styled tiles in about 6 square meters outside. Very simple, just one tile next to the other, no concrete, just sand in between. This part I have been looking sooo much forward to. This is going to be amazing.

    -1 project could be to dig a big hole with the excevator to put in the septic tank and most importantly the oil tank. This doesn't sound so extravagant, but is very important. The oil tank we have now is metal, they rust and can start leaking. This can be a catastrophic environmental catastrophy. So this is a ticking time bomb, I get sleepless nights thinking of the lovely river running down right next to the house and the green riverbank getting covered in oil. All the fish and earthworms, birds etc. This happened in a neighbours house so it could just the same happen here.

    -1 project could be paint and put up new wallpaper inside the house. We are saving this project for rainy days.

    -1 project could be to paint the house outside.

    -1 project could be to change some old windows of the house.

    -1 project could be to put Alupex (plastic) pipes in floor heating under the old floor boards. This will be done from down stairs. Onto the ceiling of the basement. Experience using a drill here is a plus. This is also a good experience for people wanting to learn about how modern floor heating is done.

    -1 project could be to make a faux, cover for the wooden beams holding the roof up. At the moment we have very strong, but very ugly beams (with glue and nails etc.), and we need to cover that mess on up. There are 15 beams in total.

    I could go on and on with these small projects. Just let us know if you have any particular skills or interests and we'll take it from there :)

    The most exciting project ahead is in my opinion the turf roof (grass roof). We are going to cut the top lair of the soil with the living grass still on it, put it on pallets and then with a big crane lift that up onto the roof. The live grass with soil will then need to be distributed equally on the roof. This will take maybe 2-3 days from start to finish. It requires many hands and especially strong hands.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Danish: Fließend
    English: Fließend
    Faroese: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    It all depends on how many you are. If you are 1-2 people you will live with my parents. They are very nice but mostly keep to themselves. There is more privacy there with your own private bathroom end entry. There you will be required to prepare most of your own food that we will buy on your arrival. This is a very nice new house built in 2010 on the top of a hill right next to a river and waterfall about 400 meters from our house (a 5 min walk). If you are a group of 4-7 strong men (for the turf roof project). We will get your your own house for a week.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Hopefully we get a good fit and we get everything finished in the time that is allocated to the project.

    There is also public transport in the Faroes that goes to most places in the Faroes. See for more information. There is also the free bus in Tórshavn. More info here:

    We live on the island of Vágar, the home of most of the sights in the Faroes. The lake above the sea Leitisvatn/Sørágsvatn, the optical illusion Trælanípa, Múlafossur waterfall in Gásadalur, The Witches Finger, Trøllkonufingur in Sandavágur. Tindhólmur and Drangarnir and many many more. Visit the website for more information about the island of Vágar.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    5 hour days for 5 days a week or 8 hours for 3 days depending on the project.

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 847439915347