Lakeside home on the largest freshwater Island in the world Manitoulin Island, Canada

Country

Kanada

Bisher 110 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    18  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    07.11.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 3 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We live in a lakeside home with 100 feet of shoreline on the North Channel of Lake Huron on Manitoulin Island (Rainbow Country!). We moved here in May, 2017. Between the house and the lake is a garden that we are planting based on a design created for us. Most of the shrubs, trees and perennial plants are now planted and we need your help maintaining the beds by mulching, watering, and keeping them free of grass and weeds. We hope you will help us continue to transform this former green lawn into a haven for birds and wildlife.

    In addition to our garden project, we are also looking for help with general home and property upkeep. Tasks vary depending on time of year. Indoor help includes keeping the cat litter boxes clean and fresh, vacuuming, tidying, emptying garbage and recycle bins, filling and emptying the dishwasher, organizing cupboards, wiping down surfaces and other tasks of this nature.

    If you enjoy engaging with people on social media buy and sell sites, we could also use help with selling some items we no longer need or that came to us when family members down-sized. Our last Workawayer was a whiz at taking photos of items for sale, posting descriptions, communicating with interested buyers and arranging contact and pick-up. What a great help that was!

    We would prefer couple Workawayers so that you can keep each other company. Also, people with gardening experience are preferred. Others will be considered; these are just our preferences. Non-negotiable is the need for Workawayers to be vaccinated against COVID-19.

    Who are we? Julie and Michael are in our 50's and we have 3 cats. Julie is a former yoga teacher and Mike is a Patient Transport Attendant and a volunteer firefighter. We are quiet types (Mike very much so!), fairly introverted but enjoy good company. Julie has significant health challenges and is quite limited in what she can do. Mike enjoys windsurfing, kitesurfing and paddleboarding (SUP). In our 20's we travelled extensively for 1 year: Ghana, Cote d'Ivoire, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Turkey, England, Poland, Belgium, Netherlands.

    Languages: English and some French

    We have a large bedroom downstairs with a fantastic view of the lake for our Workaway visitors. When not working, you would be able to swim or paddleboard, borrow our bicycles, check out the attractions on the Island, or hang out in the hammock just taking it easy. Evening campfires are also wonderful under the stars by the lake. As with many other places, COVID-19 has limited the activities that are available on Manitoulin.

    Our home is located on the Eastern side of the Island on a long road with other lakeside properties and is a 15 minute drive from a full service town. There is limited public transportation provided by an on demand transit group (United Manitoulin Islands Transit).

    We follow a lazy vegan diet mostly from packages and expect you to observe a meat free diet in our home. If you like to cook, that would be awesome, but if not, you can dig through the freezer and pantry like we do. Cooking is definitely not our skill set.

    We would expect you to help with the garden and housekeeping 5 days a week with flexibility around the weather. If it's very hot, then choosing the hours to be outside is a good idea.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Seniorenbetreuung
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Workaway visitors will be able to experience life in rural northern Ontario on the largest freshwater island in the world! We can also share our travel experiences and compare what travelling was like pre-Internet to now.
    Julie has been studying and practicing Buddhism for many years and would love to share her interest. Mike has absorbed much of the teachings vicariously. We live a lifestyle of non-harming but are human and happily imperfect!

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Garden (May-October): weeding, watering, mulching, trimming grass using battery operated trimmer
    Home (year-round): vacuuming, loading/unloading dishwasher, washing kitchen floors, cleaning bathrooms, cleaning cat litter, tidying, taking out the garbage and recycling, etc), other tasks that come up. Snow clearing (winter)

    Workawayers are expected to keep the house and their room clean and tidy. They will also be expected to help tidy up for Julie as she is often not able to do this herself and it helps Mike out a lot. It is important that Workawayers understand the limitations a chronic disabling condition can have and that they are patient and understanding.

    Over the past couple of years, Julie's health has deteriorated significantly. We stopped hosting at the end of November 2020 because of this but are now hoping to engage Workawayers a little differently now.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Large bedroom with a double bed; private bathroom. The TV for the family is downstairs in the shared sitting area which you are welcome to use. Shared meals in the kitchen, lots of shared deck space to enjoy the view. Smaller bedroom also available if not travelling as a couple or for an additional Workawayer.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    *****Julie's mother is in long-term care on the Island and Julie is a designated caregiver. As well, Michael's job involves transporting patients to and from healthcare facilities. It is absolutely vital that Workawayers take seriously COVID 19 precautions as recommended by Public Health. Mask wearing and social distancing prior to arrival are critical. Vaccination is a must.*****

    Visas to Canada. Please only contact us if you already have a visa as we are not in a position to be able to help you with this process.

    Manitoulin Island is the home of various farming communities and First Nation communities. Cultural opportunities such as attending pow-wows that run on different weekends during pow-wow season and festivals such as the Bluegrass Festival and Haweater Festival (all on hold during the pandemic). Beautiful beaches, hiking trails, day cruises and more.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Pets must be cat friendly.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)












Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 845333228322