Join our sustainable earthbuilding project and explore the beautiful Central Coast, Australia

Country

Australien

Bisher 82 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    18.11.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    76.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 10 Tage

 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    I'm an owner builder, living on the Central Coast of NSW (close to Gosford), building a natural house in an ecovillage; a 63 hectare (120 acre) property. The first stage (of 3) of the build is a hobbit inspired art studio which commenced building in February and now the earthbag walls are completed. Soon we'll be working on the roof. We are currently seeking assistance with wall rendering and preparations for an earthen floor. There's also an opportunity to create and build foundations with rammed earth blocks, made by an ecovillage startup business.

    Stage 2 we will be building an octagon strawbale house with a reciprocal roof. If you're into natural building, or just curious, you'll learn so much from designer/builder Will Eastlake. After the third stage (an earthship inspired greenhouse) a green roof will cover the three stages.

    Workawayers also have the opportunity (when life gets back to normal) to join in with aspects of ecovillage life and meet interesting, like-minded people; there will be opportunities to join in Permaculture, Meditation, Tai Chi and Yoga and magical walks in the Strickland Forest.

    The NSW Central Coast is beautiful with lovely beaches and great bush walks. There's also a great music scene, with up and coming musicians, bands and tributes. Life is pretty quiet with the COVID-19, but there's the opportunity to sit around the campfire with fellow workers, have a bbq or pizza, play guitars, drumming or just catch up with a beer.

    During the first stage of the build, creating earthbag walls, we had a larger group who camped at the ecovillage. For the next small group, and because it getter much colder, I will be accommodating you at my comfortable house which is about 7 minutes drive away. I have two spare bedrooms plus a sunroom.

    The train stations (with connections to Sydney and Newcastle) is a 5 minute drive from here: I'm close to both Narara and Gosford and there are excellent bus services all over the Central Coast.

    Please get in touch soon as we would like to start up again soon and would welcome your assistance.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Members of the ecovillage, as well as many Australians, are from South Africa, England, USA, Scotland, Ireland and Germany and bring together their unique cultural perspectives, life skills and similar values.

    We are currently building a hobbit inspired art studio that used the Superadobe earthbag method. It is very sculptural and will be used for art exhibitions, guests and we've even had a concert in the fledgling building. Workerwayers are encouraged to join in wherever possible and learn new skills whether it is natural building, cooking or entertaining (optional)!

    Our ecovillage is a caring, vibrant, helpful community, enjoying common goals for living sustainably. This is a unique way of living and travellers would also learn about permaculture and community living. There are monthly open days (the last two have been online), with interesting talks and events at the village.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    It will be great if you have natural building experience, i.e. rendering, mixing cob, tadalakt, light straw, strawbale - if not, you'll learn a lot from our experienced designer/builder Will. Your help in assisting us build this amazing studio will be much appreciated.

    Anyone with carpentry, cooking, organising, general building, socialising skills, energy and enthusiasm will enjoy being with us.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    I live in a comfortable 3 bedroom house with a sunroom, overlooking a park and Narara Creek which is great for kayaking down to Brisbane Waters and beyond. I can offer transport to and from the ecovillage or you may be able to borrow a bicycle or may have your own vehicle.

    I would like to have a team of 4 volunteers so you may be asked to share a bedroom or else sleep in the sunroom or loungeroom if you prefer.

    You will be provided with nutritious vegetarian meals using local, seasonal produce. Those who enjoy cooking and/or have special food preferences are welcome to take turns in creating meals.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The Central Coast has a lively cultural and music scene with tribute bands playing at many clubs. A local venue, The Rhythm Hut, has many regular events such as drumming, didgeridoo healing, etc. There are many clubs and dining venues, and lots of opportunities for bushwalking, birdwatching, photography, art and sculpture.

    The Central Coast boasts pristine beaches, some no more than 20 minutes away and reachable by public transport that offer surfing, swimming and deep sea diving. There is easy access to Sydney and Newcastle by train (1.5 hrs) - a leisurely scenic and peaceful journey.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 838677776588