Be surrounded by gorgeous vistas near Cobourg, Ontario, Canada



Bisher 245 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Last email replied


    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 3 Wochen

  • Beschreibung


    Our farm is situated in the rolling hills of Northumberland County, 10 minutes north of Cobourg. The view is magnificent and the gardens are gorgeous.

    We have many projects on the farm including a vegetable garden that supports 4 families. This winter we hope to do some much needed repairs to our farm house. In the summer we will be getting the site prepared for the new barn and starting the construction. Ten years ago we lost our barn, which burned to the ground. This has made it extremely challenging to manufacture earth blocks and to keep our lumber piles dry. Three summers ago we dismantled a steel post and beam barn and moved it to the farm and it will be set in place next summer. Currently we are finishing some trim work on the straw bale project and could use a hand with building some decks. Although we prefer to have helpers come with some history building and carpentry, most important is an eagerness for hands on work.

    We have developed a compressed earth block and straw bale hybrid building system, which is the first of its kind in Canada. There are two houses on our farm that have been built using this technique. Henry is always eager to share his experience and knowledge.

    Currently we have 3 people staying with us (2 are leaving in a couple of weeks) , and will have room for one person or a couple in January.
    We really enjoy getting to know people and watching the helpers form a wonderful group and hang out together. Everyone becomes a part of the family. The atmosphere on our farm is relaxed, warm and accommodating. We enjoy bonfires, games, cooking in our pizza oven and music events. The sound of laughter and good times echoes over the hills. In the summer after work a swim in our above ground pool is a usual event.

    In the warmer weather we spend most of our time in the "dome", an outdoor shelter complete with kitchen, dining area, and ping pong table and darts. It's a great hang out spot. There are private rooms for all our helpers.

    Depending on the season, while you are here you will be involved with simple construction/carpentry; harvesting berries, herbs and flowers to make herbal medicine and skin care products; helping with preserving food (including canning) for the winter and hopefully being a part in the many celebrations that take place on our farm. We are surrounded by a very friendly community and we all share similar values of living sustainably, walking kindly on our earth.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hilfe mit Computer / Internet

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Alternative, sustainable building techniques and ideas, medicinal herb education, organic gardening, communal living with amazing volunteers.

  • Arbeit


    Hours are flexible and varied according to job, weather, etc. and are approx. 5 days a week, 5 hours a day...including a share of the household dishes. Helpers are included at our meal times and have access to all our facilities including internet. Our helpers often become good friends, many returning in the following years. We enjoy making music, playing games, and having lots of parties around the camp fire in the evenings.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, Dutch

  • Unterkunft


    Most of our helpers are staying in our farmhouse. We have two outdoor, unheated accommodations.
    Our diet is garden based, some fish and home raised chicken.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Our volunteers have access to many bicycles and often bike to Cobourg. Our family lives around us and with four other households there is always a lift to catch into town or a return home. There is also a lake close by that is great for fishing. We love taking hikes across the countryside and enjoy many campfires with our helpers.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    5 hours a day 5 days a week

Our new build with help from the Endeavour Center. Our fall and winter project.
Henry and Joanna
Ella, who is always looking for someone to throw her stick.
Helpers picking berries in our Sea Buckthorn orchard
Our newly planted herb garden
our view to the east
The dry stone wall we started last fall needs to be completed this spring. Our CSA garden in the background.
Although we always eat lunch and dinners together, our helpers have their own kitchen and hangout spot.
the earth block/strawbale demonstration house
our view...Lake Ontario in the distance
second floor of the earth block house
first floor of the earth block/strawbale house
our CSA garden

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 832929753671