Help in the garden and with improvements to a beautiful chateau near Poitiers, France

Country

Frankreich

Bisher 49 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    27.07.2021

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 3 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are Mike & Gabi, we run a winter sports business during the winter months. Mike is English and originally from Cambridge & Gabi is Austrian. We own a beautiful old chateau close to Poitiers in the Poitou Charentes region of France. We now plan to renovate it over the next few summers. It is in a beautiful setting of 50 acres of parkland, forrest with a small lake. We enjoy good food and wine and are well travelled. With workaway we not only hope to find help restoring this beautiful building but also to find friends that we can have fun with at the same time. Ideally you will love nature and the outdoor life. You will not be afraid of hard help and will enjoy healthy food and nice wines! Useful skill sets would be in Gardening, DIY / general building & renovation. This summer we will be doing general building and gardening. We plan to start a vegetable garden to produce some of our own produce. We will be BBQ'ing regularly too :)

    At the moment there are 7 of us here, Mike & Gabi, Michelle & Mark from Australia. Eduard from Mexico, Klaus from Brazil and Oscar from Venezuela. We are looking for another couple to come and join us.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We will provide accommodation for you as well as great food. We are both good cooks and enjoy great food and wine. Of course we cook both Austrian and English dishes! We are sure that if you have an interest in history or old buildings then helping to restore our beautiful old chateau will not only be a lot of fun but also very satisfying. Anyone who helps us during the summer months will be welcome back to come and stay in the chateau once the renovation is complete! There are some beautiful villages and towns in this area so if you are looking to explore this great region of France you will find a great base with us.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We are looking for help in maintaining and managing the large garden and parkland around the chateau as well as stripping out all of the old fittings and ceilings of the main chateau. We will also be making some changes and renovations. The chateau and its parkland are amazingly beautiful and I am sure a great deal of satisfaction will be gained by helping to restore it all to its former glory. Help involved would be gardening, cutting grass, cutting down dead trees & cutting up into logs. There will also be some paint stripping and re painting of shutters, windows & doors. It is also possible that there will be some light help on some of the building alterations that we will be undertaking. For us this is a long term project with our estimate being that it will take us 5 summers to get everything the way we want it!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Deutsch: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Accommodation will not be inside chateau this summer but from the summer of 2020 we will have rooms and bathrooms inside the chateau. We plan to have two separate places for accommodation that will be of a nice standard. You will of course be able to have the use of the chateau grounds.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The chateau is in a lovely part of France with nice lovely towns and villages close by. It is also less than 2 hours from the beach and La Rochelle.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)







Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 826455843769