Help with horses and explore Rundale, Latvia

Country

Lettland

aktualisiert  

Bisher 105 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    23.09.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 7 Tage

 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hi , my name is Laima, I run my pottery studio from this rural farm in Rundale. I am the guardian of a herd of 5 horses next to my home. I offer you to experience life in the countryside, help with handling and caretaking of my horses, help with garden chores, cooking and housekeeping and landscape art projects.

    I can teach you more about being with horses in liberty, Positive reinforcement, Intrinsic Motivation and Autonomy based movement science. The horses are mainly self-sufficient with large pastures, water and free-entry shelters available 24/7, but there are still plenty of things to help around, for example taking the horses out for walks. I invite you to open your eyes to different way of being with these magnificent beings NOT just riding and using them for our own purposes.

    Help in the garden or renovation/construction also possible- let me know your skill-set and we can discuss the options of your involvement.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kunstprojekte
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Volunteers can learn through training sessions, and by handling the horses in the general day-today routines. All our horses are safe and well socialised already, joy to be around and very eager to participate in all training sessions.

    Horses are trained with choice, voice, positive reinforcement and relaxation as the main priority.


    I CAN teach you:

    - clicker training for horses for behaviours like - standing still for vet procedures (eg injections, eye treatment, injury treatment), following in liberty, saddling, introducing scary objects like plastic tarp, umbrella, ball etc etc

    - agility training

    - Methods for relaxation and groundwork

    - Liberty training

    - some Manual therapy methods for horses

    - yoga, breathing techniques and some Qigong


    - we are now delving into Nevzorov Haute Ecole.... more updates soon!


    I CANNO'T teach you:

    - Riding (please note this is NOT a riding stable and I don't offer any riding lessons at all)

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Volunteers can help with the usual day-to-day chores in this little horse paddock-paradise such as poo-picking from the free entry stable and arena (up to 1h per day), grooming, hoof care, taking horses for a walk or cycle around the area, fence maintenance and such. Depending in the seasons the training sessions usually happen in the mornings or evenings. In the late evening we prepare supplements and delicious snacks for the horses.

    We have a family orchard with apples, pears, cherry, plums (just for family consumption, not selling) and a very small vegetable garden and greenhouse. We are hoping to expand this so any help much appreciated.
    Chores may involve trimming grass, pruning trees, weeding the garden, mulching and such :) (Garden work mostly April - October).

    We are developing the garden and landscape around the farm so possibility for art projects and landscape projects such as making nice fireplace, outdoor oven, tea corner etc etc. Creative visions very welcome :)

    Otherwise we would also appreciate if you are able to COOK FOOD (we eat mainly vegan and gluten free) and help with housekeeping. The property is large and consists of 1878 brick 2 story house, 500m2, where we live and host artists in residence and my pottery studio and adjoining loft and sauna house with communal kitchen and bathroom. We use loft for hosting my pottery apprentices, Workaway volunteers and other visitors. Adjoining this is my parents large industrial agricultural farm.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Latvian (Lettish): Fließend
    Russisch: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Shared semi-private loft in newly renovated 140 building next to my pottery studio. Loft is a large open space that can be shared amongst up to 4 people (mainly I use this for hosting students and apprentices for my pottery studio on irregular basis). There is kitchen for making your own meals, shower and sauna in the adjoining building next to the loft.

    Alternatively (if there is vacancy) I give you private bedroom in our house with your own kitchen.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Place is rural so your own transport is very handy, otherwise I can take you to the closest town Bauska to the farmers market/shop once a week. There is plenty of produce from the garden in the summer months too.

    There is public transport bus stop 2.8km from the farm with good further connections throughout the country.

    Food- usually we give you food for making your own breakfast and then share cooking time together for lunch dinner at our place. However you also have your own kitchen in case your diet is much different (we are mostly vegan and gluten free).

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    free wifi

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    I have 5 cats and female dog around with me most of the time. If your dog is friendly and well socialised it might be possible to bring them along. However please keep in mind the accommodation in the loft is shared with 2-3 other people.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 825269531382