1 / 5

Help us start a permaculture project near Confolens, France

  • Bisher 17 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 12 Juli 2023



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  1 Woche oder weniger



  • Beschreibung


    Hey, we are a young couple with twin toddlers and a little dog called Kahlo.
    We've recently moved to France from London.
    Gimi is a software developer and former gardener. Tara is currently a full time mumma/homesteader. We studied permaculture design some years ago and are finally following our dream.
    We recently bought a stone Longere, with attached barn, in rural France near Confolens.
    A former forest ranger's house set on the edge of a vast forest, we have approx 4 acres of field/meadow and nearly one acre of woodland. We are off grid, fully powered by solar with well water and a compost toilet.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Our project is in its infancy which means there is so much to do and learn along the way. If you have the dream, like we did, of one day having your own piece of land and living a self sufficient life, this is the perfect place to get that hands on experience of what it would actually be like, taking an old property on a wild piece of land and turning it into your dream.

    The local area has all the offerings of beautiful classic french countryside: old towns, local producer markets, brocante markets, swimming lakes and beautiful scenery. On top of that, the area is known for it's music and dance festival (second weekend in August), and all through the summer months there is weekly live music at the river-side amphitheatre. There is also a full scale permaculture farm close by which allows casual visits on a Friday evening (to collect veg-box orders). Our neighbouring fields have friendly horses, cows and sheep, who the children love to visit, and there are glorious walks to be had through the forest adjoining our property (see photos).

  • Arbeit


    We have good wifi around the house.

    Accommodation at the moment is limited to caravans/motorhomes. Soon we will have the infrastructure in place for tent camping, with compost toilets and solar showers. We have a large bell tent with kingsize bed (subject to availability) or you can bring your own.

    We are starting our permaculture project, creating a food forest and eco homestead.
    We need help with the following:
    - Looking after the twins so we are able to get cracking with our projects.
    - Developing vegetable garden following organic, no dig and permaculture principles.
    - Planting the beginnings of the food forest, including fruit tree guilds.
    - Lime and sand traditional stone pointing the outside of the house.
    - Traditional lime plastering the main living space.
    - Restoring an old bread oven attached to the side of the house.
    - Building outdoor play areas such as a mud kitchen for the children.
    - Converting the pig sty into a functional space, using a range of eco building techniques on a mini scale.

    We are very much learning as we go with a 'progress over perfection' attitude and spades full of curiosity and optimism.

    Our only two neighbours are also doing permaculture projects of their own.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft


    At the moment we can only accommodate self contained such as campervan/motorhomes as we continue to build the infrastructure for tent camping. We can provide electricity hook up.

    Food provided when eating at the house, please let us know any dietary requirements in advance.

    Fast wifi near the house that can handle streaming and video calling

    Note: We hope to have the guest compost toilet and outdoor solar showers completed in August to accommodate tent campers from then.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    we don't expect people to be working all day but somewhere close to half the days, with weekends free as well if you so wish.

    Confolens and the neighbouring villages have plenty of events on to keep you busy. With a famous folk festival in early August, weekly markets, weekly outdoor music concerts, plenty of places for biking and hiking, canoeing, kayaking, lakes for carp fishing, places to swim in the Lacs de Haute Charente.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Gimi works a digital-remote job, and so we have excellent wifi.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Our current set up would lend itself best to campervan/motorhome travellers as we are still building the guest/camping toilet/shower

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    We have a female dog who is not neutered, so an un-neutered male dog would be a bad idea, but other than that pets are welcome.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    4 hours per day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 821532594462

Weitere Bilder