1 / 5

Cultural exchange and help around our family home in Puntarenas, Costa Rica

  • Costa Rica
  • Bisher 415 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 25 März 2023



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  1 Woche oder weniger



  • Beschreibung


    My husband Taylor, our dog Sulli, and I have a house located in the Southern Zone of Costa Rica, in the secluded beach town of Playa Zancudo. It is about 60 yards from the beach. From our porch, you can see the Gulfo Dulce and the Osa Peninsula. The house is on just over an acre, full of different fruits, flowers, and wildlife.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Playa Zancudo is a small local, one road town, where you will be fully immersed in Costa Rican culture. You can experience local cuisine, language, and the “Pura Vida” way of life. You will see wildlife, plants, and some fruits only found here in Costa Rica. Also, some of the best surfing, and fishing around is found in the Gulfo Dulce, our backyard. Excursions and Activities can be arranged with the hosts in advance and scheduled around work times.

  • Arbeit


    Currently looking for volunteers with knowledge and experience in wood work! Somewhat flexible dates for a month between August and September.

    When staying at our house you will mostly be responsible for feeding, walking and caring for our 60 lb, baby of a dog, named Sulli. Ideally, we’d like you to have previous experience with caring for dogs with special needs. Sulli struggles with separation anxiety if he is not provided structure, proper exercise, and plenty of quality time. We expect that at least 60% of your time will be spent at the property or on the beach in front. We will also need help with mowing the grass, watering plants and/or pulling weeds, trimming trees and clearing the yard of palm fronds and coconuts, as needed. Electrical knowledge would be a plus, as there are a few light switches that could use rewiring. Also, anyone with social media marketing, videography, mural painting and construction skills would be a welcomed addition. The daily schedule would be an early start around 6:00am and work until 10:00am. The remainder of the day and afternoon would be yours to enjoy the beach, read, work remotely, prepare meals, work on creative projects, and cherish the tranquility of Playa Zancudo.

    We do not provide meals, but will ensure that you can get all the groceries you need before we leave. If you are able to provide carpentry skills, we are willing to negotiate to include some food costs.

    At this time, we do not provide transportation for our volunteers while they are staying at the house. We will assist in the transportation to and from the property when you arrive and will ensure you have transportation back to the airport/bus station. The local super market and a couple of nearby restaurants are within walking distance and a produce truck delivers to the house twice a week. You may wish to look into a rental car or motorcycle and we are happy to assist with this.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Unterkunft


    You will have your own private bedroom and bathroom with access to full kitchen, rest of house and property. You will be responsible for purchasing and preparing your own food.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There are many activities to do in and around Playa Zancudo. Our large veranda is perfect for yoga and creative projects with the peaceful sounds of nature. Many adventure activities and tours are available; such as, fishing, surfing, kayaking, and stand up paddle boarding. In terms of transportion, you will not have access to a motorized vehicle during your stay; however, rental opportunities might be available. You can get anywhere you need to go within Zancudo on a bicycle that we can provide for you and walking is safe and easy along the beach and road. Additional bikes can be rented, if needed. This Workaway exchange is ideal for the active travelers that enjoy working and playing outdoors amongst nature. Please note that we expect our volunteers to spend at least 60% of their time at the house or on the beach in the front yard and any planned activities or outings would need to be scheduled on off days or around working hours.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    In addition to our bed and breakfast, Emily works from home online in customer service. The internet speeds range and we have a back up battery for the wifi when the power inevitably goes out. Work out on the porch with the sounds of wildlife and nature.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    There is plenty of secure parking on the property, but no hook up for water or electric.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Max 15 hours a week, with 2 days off - no food

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 819826233976

Feedback (4)

Weitere Bilder


Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Join our family and learn about our culture near San Jose, Costa Rica
Support our team at a beautiful family-run jungle hostel in Uvita de Osa, Costa Rica