aktualisiert  

Join us in rebuilding a 35 years old 12m sailing catamaran on a beach in Phang Nga, Thailand

  • Bisher 380 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 7 Juni 2024

Verfügbarkeit

  2024 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a Swiss-Italian and Thai couple.
    Luca is retired from an adventurous life and now, with the help of our Burmese worker Sawsaw, is rebuilding his sailing catamaran 'Namaste' on which he sailed to Thailand from the Med 40 years ago.
    Elle, who used to cook onboard is looking after the open house, the 2 guest bungalows, the Thai/Italian kitchen and the garden.

    *** March Update:
    Because of heat, humidity and coming monsoon rains we'll be closing down our Thai beach workshop after a very successful 5 month operation... and we have had many very helpful and friendly wawayers!

    **From May we are going to spend the summer in Europe, in a very old partly restored house in Istria, Croatia.
    If you are a good mason, a carpenter or an all-rounder, you would be very welcome to help us out with some restoration.
    Contact us for more details!

    Well be back in Thailand from October!


    Our Thai house is 50m from the beach on the fringes of a National Park and we use the work shed of the catamaran on the beach as our BBQ and sunset bar. The 4 km long beach is practically deserted, there are a couple of street food places and a nice and cheap Thai shop and restaurant within one km. The village on the main road is 3 km away and the nearest small town, an important fishing harbour, 12 km from there.
    There are buses to lesser tourist resorts like Khao Lak, Khao Sok, Ranong (about 100kms) or to Phuket, Krabi or Samui Island which are 200+kms away.
    Probably because we are far away from busy civilisation we love to have friends and guests at our (literally) open house.
    We often welcome travellers in a very relaxed way and we love beach parties. We are foodies and appreciate the company of people who love experimenting good food without many restrictions. We hope you do too.
    We have some water toys on the beach, a bicycle and a 4x4 pick-up for excursions. Motorscooters can be rented in town, as can local longtail boats to nearby deserted islands

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Apart from living in an almost wild tropical surrounding on the Andaman Sea and working on a boat on a deserted beach, you will be able to learn basic Thai, about Thai customs and history...and especially Thai cuisine in a culturally open and international setting.
    If you are interested, you can always ask Luca to tell you about some of his past and future adventures.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Depending on your particular skills you will be asked to help and participate in the restauration work on the boat: painting, woodwork, composite (fiberglass), mechanics, electrics and more. If you are a good writer or computer wizard you will be most welcome. Also, we'll ask you to help Elle in the garden, kitchen and house.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Deutsch: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend
    Italienisch: Fließend
    Thai: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Luca has been travelling for a large part of his life: as a young tour guide taking tourists round Europe from London in his twenties to overland trips to India and Africa later, and sailing his catamaran NAMASTE from the Med, through the Red Sea to India, SriLanka and finally Thailand. 25 years ago, on his catamaran, he spearheaded Biodiversity Research in the nearby Burmese Mergui Archipelago. Elle came onboard as a hostess and cook... She is Thai, also speaks English, is always good company and is learning Italian.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have separate accomodation in two double rooms and a single on the first floor of our converted, traditional southern house with a shared bathroom. Don't expect luxury.
    The two cabins on the catamaran are also being adapted for sleeping, if you like the sound of the waves!
    Alternatively and if you like more privacy, for a specially reduced price, you could stay in one of Elle's two bungalows on the lagoon near the beach which she occasionally rents to travellers and friends.
    We have a common breakfast at 8am, a light lunch at 1pm and dinner together at 7pm
    You can use most facilities and jump in the sea or into Luca's small exercise little pool when you feel hot.
    In the 'winter' season (November to April) we do not need air conditioning as there is always a breeze from the sea or, at night, from the mountains. We are lucky that there are few insects and even less dangerous snakes.
    Just beware of mosquitoes and sandflies on the beach at sunset. Moskito nets are available, but we normally sleep without, with open windows and a fan.

    We normally have a varied continental breakfast incl. fruit, cereals, yoghurt; often homemade bread and jam, with coffee or tea.
    For lunch normally a Thai noodle or rice dish.
    At dinner Elle cooks delicious Thai or Italian dishes . We often organise BBQs on the beach and we also have an outside thatch roof 'sala' with BBQ and pizza oven next to the main house.
    After some negative experience we have decided not to accept special needs as they disrupt the quality of food for all the others and Elle's creativity.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Work is 5 hours a day for Monday to Friday. You are expected to, in turns, help Elle washing and tidying up. You can use our washing machine for your clothes and linen. On weekends Friday afternoon to Sunday night) you and we are free and you should take your meals and sleep outside and take advantage by visiting the nearby islands and national parks. There are also some very cheap options like trekking and camping at a waterfall nearby.
    We like to explore ourselves and often go off-road in our 4x4 pick-up. A fat wheel bicycle is available and motorcycles can be rented for cheap in town.
    Our nearest neighbors are a very nice Muslim family.
    Like in most of Thailand nakedness on the beach is not allowed. Otherwise we live a very free life.
    Our special offer to volunteers is the high quality food, including some of the best seafood straight from the nearby fishing villages.
    Elle, whom many consider a Thai MasterChef, also cooks very good Italian. She has a few stray dogs around the house that she loves to feed. She also loves to go fishing with a long net at sunset.
    gardening or going to the fresh market in the morning. She is very allergic to smoke, so if you do, not in the house.!
    Luca, plans and supervises work on Namaste and other projects.
    He doesn't walk well, but loves watersports, adventure and 4x4 exploration.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We have two good wifis at our place, and an office. Digital nomads are welcome, also to help us develop our own communication.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    We have room for a couple of campers near our house or on the beach.Also camping is possible. An independent shower/toilet is available.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 818842252641

Feedback (7)



Weitere Bilder

Feedback

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.9)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (4.7)









Volunteer at a hands-off elephant sanctuary in Kanchanaburi, Thailand
English/Drama Teachers needed for summer programme in Bangkok, Thailand