Living our dream alongside Mother Nature, learning, laughing and connecting ~monsanto

  • Portugal
  • Bisher 68 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 24.09.2022

Verfügbarkeit

  2023 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a little tribe of 2 adults and one baby, a puppy,two cats,a rooster and 3 chickens!
    I’m from South Africa and my husband is British. In out late 30’s early 40’s.
    Living in Brighton UK for over a decade we knew we needed to connect more to our roots.....
    We need to be closer to our true nature.....




    Typical work day:

    Wake to the sound of our rooster Olivier! Ignore him for an hoot or so! And then have a cuppa tea and breakfast. Work starts at 9, and we have a little tea/coffee break at about 11, then lunch at 1ish.

    We love catching the sun going down at the end of the day and we love having dinner around the fire.

    We have lots of beautiful instruments from Senegalese koras to balafons, making music is a beautiful way to express ourselves out here.

    There is a wonderful sharing community here in Monsanto with weekly/ monthly exchanges/ get togethers.

    There are a few great little music festivals here too.

    The river ( rio ponsul) is a 10 minute walk from us( we have bicycles for any volunteers to use while staying here)

    There's great mountain biking off-road or on road tracks

    Not far from us there is Pena Garcia which has a beautiful lake for fishing ,waterfalls and great rock climbing!

    There's lots of great wild life from wild pigs to griffin vultures!

    Autumn time is abound with the most biodiversity mushroom selection I've ever come across!



    Accomadation:

    In fabulous large belltents ( 5m) 2-3 people per tent



    Wash up facilities:

    Compost toilets

    Water collected from the wells

    Cold water but option to hear on gas

    Clothes washing: done by hand by volunteers themselves, but laundry service is provided by a local lady :) bonus!



    Meals:

    Breakfast ingredients provided ( bread, spreads, cereal, tea cofffee etc.) volunteers to help themselves

    Lunch and dinner prepared.

    We are mostly vegetarian but meat can be provided if wanted.

    Help with washing up after meals is required.



    Internet is provided, but no streaming of movies etc. Allowed as there is only a limited band width!we do have movie nights with a projector etc.







    We would like reliable and independent people, preferably couples or two friends who are happy to go about their own adventures when not working. Meal times are sometimes shared but having a baby means we may need some time to ourselves. Own transport ( car bike skateboard!) is preferred as we are in the middle of the country....with so many beautiful bits to explore and we sadly don’t have extra time to help other site see in days off x

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Betreuung von Tieren
  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Learning how to live alongside this ancient farm land....
    .eating healthy nutritious and mostly organic food!
    fruit orchard

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Living on 14 beautiful hectares we need help with clearing, restoring and rejuvenating the land. From building a veg garden, clearing paths up our ‘mountain’, building and restoring ancient stone terraces, uncovering and rechannellung old viaducts, mulching.....and lots more! And of course.....eating healthy nutritious and mostly organic food!

    Types of Help:
    Animal Care, Eco construction projects, Cooking, Egg gathering, Farm Tasks, general, Firewood splitting & gathering, Gardening tasks, general, Harvesting, Landscaping, Maintenance, general, Making Preserves, Planting, Pruning, Seed saving
    Current projects:
    We would love nature earth lovers and mindful folk to help us discover this sacred land which we feel we are simply guardians of.

    We want to share all we have learnt on this journey and are so excited to learn from others too.

    We have many projects on the go, from natural dyeing, bee keeping, food planting and harvesting( pickling, preserving, fermenting!), building( tipi, stone, natural earthclearing.

    Our main focus for this year is to:

    -clear land and to build / rebuild natural ancient stone terraces


    - clear water wells and re-establish waterways

    - build water storage storage tanks

    -build an outdoor kitchen

    - install a copper wood burner Under a salvaged iron bath!

    - build a natural stone pool

    - harvest honey from the hives

    - carve spoons

    - expand our natural dye knowledge

    - wild forage

    - build tipi

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Afrikaans: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Polnisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    In brand new 5m bell tents with actual mattresses! Set in our beautiful fruit orchard.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 797311445382

Weitere Bilder

Feedback

Help with renovation projects for two old stone buildings in Caminha, Portugal
Come and help us to create a self sufficient home in Penamacor, Portugal